Bug 59723

Summary: Use jmeter.properties for testing whenever possible
Product: JMeter Reporter: Sebb <sebb>
Component: MainAssignee: JMeter issues mailing list <issues>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal    
Priority: P2    
Version: 3.0   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Mac OS X 10.1   

Description Sebb 2016-06-19 21:39:57 UTC
The unit tests generally use a separate version of jmeter.properties - testfiles/jmetertest.properties.

This was done originally to fix up some issues that applied only to tests.
However there is a problem with this, as changes to the standard properties may not be picked up in unit tests.

It would be better to rely on the standard default properties, and only override specific properties for tests if actually needed (e.g. logging level might need to be adjusted).

Similarly for batch tests; these use jmeter-batch.properties.
It would be better to use jmeter.properties and override as necessary using the -q command-line flag.
Comment 1 Sebb 2016-06-19 22:06:46 UTC
URL: http://svn.apache.org/viewvc?rev=1749211&view=rev
Log:
Use jmeter.properties for testing whenever possible
Fix unit tests
Bugzilla Id: 59723

Removed:
    jmeter/trunk/bin/testfiles/jmetertest.properties
Modified:
    jmeter/trunk/build.xml
    jmeter/trunk/test/src/org/apache/jmeter/junit/JMeterTestCase.java
    jmeter/trunk/test/src/org/apache/jmeter/junit/JMeterTestCaseJUnit3.java

URL: http://svn.apache.org/viewvc?rev=1749212&view=rev
Log:
Use jmeter.properties for testing whenever possible
Fix unit tests
Bugzilla Id: 59723

Modified:
    jmeter/trunk/xdocs/changes.xml
Comment 2 Sebb 2016-06-19 22:23:47 UTC
It's slightly tricky to fix the batch tests because these rely on the log file being empty. However only the initial property file is loaded before the settings are checked and logging started.

URL: http://svn.apache.org/viewvc?rev=1749218&view=rev
Log:
Use jmeter.properties for testing whenever possible
Fix batch tests
Bugzilla Id: 59723

Modified:
    jmeter/trunk/build.xml