Bug 41457

Summary: TCPSampler re-uses socket connection. This is not always desirable.
Product: JMeter - Now in Github Reporter: john.neale
Component: MainAssignee: JMeter issues mailing list <issues>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: P2    
Version: 2.2   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments: Patch to implement this enhancement

Description john.neale 2007-01-24 17:04:01 UTC
I have an application to test that requires only one conversation per socket
connection. Currently, TCPSampler re-uses sockets for multiple conversations.
I've added an enhancement to select whether to re-use the socket or create a new
socket for each conversation.

Patch is attached.
Comment 1 john.neale 2007-01-24 20:32:08 UTC
Created attachment 19452 [details]
Patch to implement this enhancement

Adds a Re-Use Connection checkbox to the TCLSampler. If checked (the default)
then the TCPSampler will re-use the same connection in each loop for each
thread. If not checked TCPSampler will open a new connection with each loop.
Comment 2 Sebb 2007-01-31 12:47:34 UTC
Thanks for the patches.

I had to change the TCPConfig patch slightly to ensure that existing test 
plans (without the new variable) retained the original behaviour.

The next nightly build dated after this update will contain the fix:

http://people.apache.org/builds/jakarta-jmeter/nightly/
Comment 3 The ASF infrastructure team 2022-09-24 20:37:38 UTC
This issue has been migrated to GitHub: https://github.com/apache/jmeter/issues/1853