Bug 46722

Summary: problem using bcel in jdk15
Product: BCEL - Now in Jira Reporter: psramkumar <psramkumar>
Component: MainAssignee: issues <issues>
Status: NEEDINFO ---    
Severity: normal    
Priority: P2    
Version: unspecified   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   

Description psramkumar 2009-02-17 09:22:49 UTC
Hi ,
I am using Bcel to instrument java classes  of webapplications in JDK1.6 ,1.5 .We encountered ClassFormat exception for classes using Generics
which prevented application from loading.From https://issues.apache.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=33549
I saw a workaround to delete "LocalVariableTypeTable".I followed that suggestion and loop through the attributes
and deleted attribute named "LocalVariableTypeTable".Still While loading application I get ClassFormatException.
Example code in which i delete attribute "LocalvariableTypeTable" jc is JavaClass Object
             Method[] ma = jc.getMethods();
           for(int i=0,x=ma.length;i<x;i++)
            {
            try{
                  
                MethodGen mg = new MethodGen(ma[i],cg.getClassName(),cg.getConstantPool());
                Attribute[] atts = mg.getCodeAttributes();
               
                for( int j=0; j<atts.length; j++ ) {
                 
                    if(atts[j].getNameIndex()==mg.getConstantPool().lookupUtf8("LocalVariableTypeTable"))
                    {
                      
                        mg.removeCodeAttribute(atts[j]);
                     
                    }
                    
                }
               
            }
           
                  catch(Exception o1)
                  {
                  output.write("exception "+o1);   
                  }
                }
               
       Also i get other error
      
       Caused by: java.lang.ClassFormatError: LVTT entry for 'patterns' in class file org/springframework/classname does not match any LVT entry
and application fails to load
Comment 1 psramkumar 2009-04-16 04:14:52 UTC
Any update on this .We require this problem Solved ASAP
Comment 2 Torsten Curdt 2010-01-10 12:50:46 UTC
Please re-test against trunk.