Bug 57603

Summary: failed to create Word 2003 with seven or more columns
Product: POI Reporter: E.G.Miranda <srmiranda>
Component: HWPFAssignee: POI Developers List <dev>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: major CC: marko.zupancic, thomas.schwery
Priority: P5    
Version: 3.11-FINAL   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
Attachments: Test program and word documents
Empty document with a seven column table

Description E.G.Miranda 2015-02-19 18:10:23 UTC
Created attachment 32498 [details]
Test program and word documents

When HWPFDocument reads a Word document (.doc 2003) with six columns, writes a new document without problem. If Word document has seven or more columns, the write process creates a corrupt document, that MSWord can't read it.
Comment 1 Thomas Schwery 2016-01-05 16:31:42 UTC
Created attachment 33408 [details]
Empty document with a seven column table

This bug is also occurring with the latest Apache POI 3.14-beta1 on an empty document that is written without modifications.

To reproduce, you only need to open the attached file and write it back :
        HWPFDocument doc = new HWPFDocument(new FileInputStream(inFile));
        FileOutputStream fos = new FileOutputStream(outFile);
        doc.write(fos);
        fos.close();

Word then displays an error when the output file is opened.
Comment 2 Thomas Schwery 2016-01-19 12:16:16 UTC
After doing some additional tests, it seems that writing such a file and opening it again leads to an Exception. Here is a small testcase that reproduce the error using the previously attached document :

    public void testSevenRowTable() throws Exception
    {
        HWPFDocument hwpfDocument = new HWPFDocument( POIDataSamples
                .getDocumentInstance().openResourceAsStream( "Bug57603-sevencolumns.doc" ) );

        ByteArrayOutputStream out = new ByteArrayOutputStream();
        hwpfDocument.write(out);
        out.close();

        HWPFDocument hwpfDocument2 = new HWPFDocument(new ByteArrayInputStream(out.toByteArray()));
    }
Comment 3 Dominik Stadler 2016-07-17 21:18:34 UTC
I have added a disabled unit-test for this via r1753120.
Comment 4 Dominik Stadler 2016-07-26 13:03:41 UTC
*** Bug 55541 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***