Bug 59265

Summary: totalThreads + activeThreads + warnIndicator tooltip not updated when we change the language in the GUI
Product: JMeter Reporter: Antonio Gomes Rodrigues <ra0077>
Component: MainAssignee: JMeter issues mailing list <issues>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: minor CC: p.mouawad, ra0077
Priority: P2    
Version: Nightly (Please specify date)   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows NT   
Attachments: Tooltip not updated

Description Antonio Gomes Rodrigues 2016-04-03 20:22:34 UTC
Created attachment 33721 [details]
Tooltip not updated

Hi,

When we change the language of JMeter GUI, totalThreads + activeThreads + warnIndicator tooltip are not updated to the new language

If we check the code source these 3 icons are created in org.apache.jmeter.gui.MainFrame

And this class don't implement LocaleChangeListener like others (JMeterToolBar, JMeterMenuBar)

If you have an idea how to fix it, I can try to do it

Antonio
Comment 1 Sebb 2016-04-03 21:53:07 UTC
Does the tooltip change correctly if you set the language before starting JMeter?
Comment 2 Antonio Gomes Rodrigues 2016-04-04 07:35:39 UTC
Hi Sebb,

I have try to modify language option in jmeter.properties

With no language
JMeter is in French because I use a French operating system
If I switch to English in the GUI, the tooltip is still in French

If I put language=fr, same as above

If I put language=en
JMeter is in English
If I switch to French, the tooltip remains in English whereas it should be in French

Antonio
Comment 3 Philippe Mouawad 2016-06-11 08:21:41 UTC
Changing language in JMeter requires 2 configuration options:
- set JMeter property : language=fr
- set Java Sytem property : -Duser.language=fr

I propose to disable change through menu option.
Comment 4 Sebb 2016-06-11 08:51:43 UTC
(In reply to Philippe Mouawad from comment #3)
> Changing language in JMeter requires 2 configuration options:
> - set JMeter property : language=fr
> - set Java Sytem property : -Duser.language=fr
> 
> I propose to disable change through menu option.

Or we just note it as a known bug; the function mostly works.

It's really not that important, and we may get complaints that the menu item has gone.

But we should investigate why there are both properties. Could we drop the JMeter one? Or does that do different things?
Comment 5 Philippe Mouawad 2016-06-11 09:03:17 UTC
Hi sebb,
My answers inline.
Regards
(In reply to Sebb from comment #4)
> (In reply to Philippe Mouawad from comment #3)
> > Changing language in JMeter requires 2 configuration options:
> > - set JMeter property : language=fr
> > - set Java Sytem property : -Duser.language=fr
> > 
> > I propose to disable change through menu option.
> 
> Or we just note it as a known bug; the function mostly works.

I am not sure it's very good for JMeter image to have function that "mostly works".

For me, unless you set both, a lot of GUI will still be in the original language.

> 
> It's really not that important, and we may get complaints that the menu item
> has gone.

I think it's not important for English OS, but for other users it can be annoying.

> 
> But we should investigate why there are both properties. Could we drop the
> JMeter one? Or does that do different things?

Maybe we should drop the JMeter one, it is only used in JMeterUtils#initLocale
Because there is an other annoying issue about it, it only works if put in jmeter.properties, not in user.properties.
Comment 6 Sebb 2016-06-11 09:15:02 UTC
(In reply to Philippe Mouawad from comment #5)
> Hi sebb,
> My answers inline.
> Regards
> (In reply to Sebb from comment #4)
> > (In reply to Philippe Mouawad from comment #3)
> > > Changing language in JMeter requires 2 configuration options:
> > > - set JMeter property : language=fr
> > > - set Java Sytem property : -Duser.language=fr
> > > 
> > > I propose to disable change through menu option.
> > 
> > Or we just note it as a known bug; the function mostly works.
> 
> I am not sure it's very good for JMeter image to have function that "mostly
> works".

There are lots of functions that have minor bugs, but we don't just drop them.
Besides, there's quite a lot of work to remove the code and update the documentation.
I would rather that effort was spent on making the function work.

> For me, unless you set both, a lot of GUI will still be in the original
> language.

That's really a separate issue which can hopefully be solved.

> > 
> > It's really not that important, and we may get complaints that the menu item
> > has gone.
> 
> I think it's not important for English OS, but for other users it can be
> annoying.

Not sure I follow why it is better for English OS.

> > 
> > But we should investigate why there are both properties. Could we drop the
> > JMeter one? Or does that do different things?
> 
> Maybe we should drop the JMeter one, it is only used in
> JMeterUtils#initLocale
> Because there is an other annoying issue about it, it only works if put in
> jmeter.properties, not in user.properties.

OK, I wonder why it was introduced.