Bug 44313 - Saving in authoring causes updates to live
Summary: Saving in authoring causes updates to live
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: Lenya
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Repository Integration (show other bugs)
Version: 2.0
Hardware: Other other
: P2 normal
Target Milestone: 2.0.1
Assignee: Lenya Developers
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2008-01-28 08:35 UTC by Richard Frovarp
Modified: 2008-01-28 09:53 UTC (History)
0 users



Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Richard Frovarp 2008-01-28 08:35:29 UTC
If a published document is saved (or updated), an update in the live area is
tripped as well. A new document and .meta file is generated with an old revision
be shot. The .rcml file is also updated. Content doesn't change, but these
updates aren't necessary. I have seen cases where the document is checked out in
the .rcml file under the live area, and then is not checked back in. This
prevents any action from occurring to the document. To fix, the .rcml file under
live must be edited and the application server restarted.
Comment 1 Andreas Hartmann 2008-01-28 08:43:34 UTC
IIRC the reason for this behaviour is that all area versions of a document share
a common workflow. When the authoring document's workflow meta data change, the
live version's workflow meta data are updated as well.

A possible solution would be to introduce area-independent meta data, but this
would be a bit difficult to implement and hacky, because the repository layer
(which handles meta data) doesn't know about the concept of areas.

The cleanest solution would IMO be to abandon the area concept. This would
require a comprehensive analysis of possible workflow scenarios.
Comment 2 Andreas Hartmann 2008-01-28 08:45:19 UTC
Random thought: Another option would be a fallback hierarchy. If an area version
doesn't contain a value for a particular meta data element, it is fetched from
the authoring/trash/archive version.
Comment 3 Richard Frovarp 2008-01-28 08:53:34 UTC
I'm confused as to what meta data is being talked about. Shouldn't the meta data
only be updated in live after a publish?
Comment 4 Andreas Hartmann 2008-01-28 08:59:12 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> I'm confused as to what meta data is being talked about.

The current workflow state is stored in the meta data.

> Shouldn't the meta data only be updated in live after a publish?

All area versions have the same workflow state - after publishing, the authoring
has the state "live", and the live version has the state "live". When you edit
the document again, both authoring and live version are set to the state
"authoring".
Comment 5 Richard Frovarp 2008-01-28 09:52:25 UTC
Okay, I see that now. Of course the follow up question is, why? What difference
does that information make to the live area? 
Comment 6 J 2008-01-28 09:53:32 UTC
(In reply to comment #4)
> (In reply to comment #3)
> > I'm confused as to what meta data is being talked about.
> 
> The current workflow state is stored in the meta data.
> 
> > Shouldn't the meta data only be updated in live after a publish?
> 
> All area versions have the same workflow state - after publishing, the authoring
> has the state "live", and the live version has the state "live". When you edit
> the document again, both authoring and live version are set to the state
> "authoring".

why should a live document have workflow meta data at all? doesn't make sense to
me. and btw, +1 to get rid of areas and -1 to any quick fixes that introduce yet
another area dependency.