Issue 88825

Summary: When changing graph range with discontinous ranges, it also resets graph statistics (e.g. mean)
Product: General Reporter: santtu <santtu>
Component: chartAssignee: kla <thomas.klarhoefer>
Status: CLOSED FIXED QA Contact: issues@graphics <issues>
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: IngridvdM, issues, weizhao
Version: 3.3.0 or older (OOo)Keywords: regression
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
example document as described in the issue none

Description santtu 2008-04-29 06:48:22 UTC
Further information: Fedora 8, RPM is "openoffice.org-calc-2.3.0-6.14.fc8".

Steps to reproduce:

1. Open blank spreadsheet
2. Insert values A, B, C, D into column A
3. Leave column B blank (this is important)
4. Insert values 1, 2, 3, 4 into column C
5. Select using mouse and control range A1:A3 and C1:C3 (e.g. leave A4 and C4
unselected)
6. Choose Insert>Chart
7. Click Finish (graph defaults are ok)
8. Double-click on any graph bar to get the "Data Series" dialog open
9. In "Data Series" dialog choose "Statistics" tab
10. Click "Mean value" checkbox to ON value (checked)
11. Click OK (close dialog)

Note that the graph has a mean value line.

12. Right-click over the graph, select "Data Ranges"
13. Increase range to include A4 and C4 elements, e.g. change "Data range" from
"$Sheet1.$A$1:$A$3;$Sheet1.$C$1:$C$3" to "$Sheet1.$A$1:$A$4;$Sheet1.$C$1:$C$4"
14. Click OK (close dialog)

Observe that the graph no longer has a mean value line.

Note: This bug *does not* show up if you have continuous graph range, e.g. if
you put values into column B instead of C and select range A1:B3 at start and
extend it to A1:B4 -- the mean value won't be removed in that case.
Comment 1 santtu 2008-04-29 06:49:42 UTC
Oh and of course, the expected behavior is:

The "checkedness" of "mean value" statistics does not change when growing (or
shrinking) the selection range when discontinuous graph ranges are used.

That is, the behavior should be same as when non-discontinuous ranges are used.
Comment 2 frank 2008-04-29 09:07:34 UTC
wrong component, changed to Chart and re-assigned
Comment 3 kla 2008-05-09 12:45:39 UTC
@IHA: pls have a look
Comment 4 IngridvdM 2008-06-04 14:47:34 UTC
@weiz, please have a look at this problem. Thanks!
Comment 5 IngridvdM 2008-07-10 07:54:08 UTC
The data gets lost because an intermediate state of the range does remove the
complete series, so not only the mean value line gets lost but also all other
settings at the series like color, labels etc.
Comment 6 IngridvdM 2008-07-10 07:55:51 UTC
Created attachment 55041 [details]
example document as described in the issue
Comment 7 IngridvdM 2008-07-10 08:03:09 UTC
The Issue is fixed in CWS chart29 as follows.
While typing in the range field, the range change is not applied to the chart
model for each new character anymore. Instead the change is committed only after
one second of inactivity in the field (no typing, no traveling with the cursor,
no selecting with the mouse) or when the focus is removed from the field.
This allows to change the range without loosing all settings at the series.
Comment 8 IngridvdM 2008-07-10 09:07:01 UTC
@Thomas, please verify in CWS chart29. Please check all platforms: windows,
linux, solaris and mac. Thanks!
Comment 9 kla 2008-07-16 12:13:34 UTC
Seen ok in cws chart29 -> verified
Little remark: 
The mean value has now a own menu entry.
Comment 10 kla 2008-08-29 09:59:10 UTC
Seen ok in current master -> closed