Issue 100078

Summary: Buttons "Insert Row" and "Insert Column" insert multiple if clicked immediately alternating
Product: Draw Reporter: kirtan_patel20 <kirtankumar2008>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, rainerbielefeld_ooo_qa
Version: DEV300m9Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: Other   
OS: Windows, all   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description kirtan_patel20 2009-03-10 04:29:57 UTC
- I found a bug while inserting a new row in the table.

Steps to reproduce a bug are as follows:
-  Create a presentation in Open Office.
-  insert a table of any dimensions.
-  Now add one column 
-  Then immediately click on “insert rowâ€.

It should insert a new row in the table.

But, it inserts new rows as many as there were in the table before clicking 
on “insert rowâ€.

- My system configuration is as follows:
  Windows Vista basic, RAM 3GB, HD 250 GB, Graphics Card Mobile intel(R) 965 
Express chipset family.

Kirtan Patel
Comment 1 Rainer Bielefeld 2009-03-10 07:45:29 UTC
I checked with "Ooo 3.0.1 (DE) Multilingual version GERMAN UI WIN XP: [OOO300m15
(Build 9379)]" and can confirm the reported effect, also for "Insert column"
(pls. see modified summary).
Same in DRAW, so I believe it is more appropriate to handle this problem as a
DRAW issue.
Comment 2 wolframgarten 2009-03-10 08:56:32 UTC
Reproducible. Reassigned.
Comment 3 cemkaner 2009-03-25 18:48:12 UTC
I think I don't understand why this would be seen as a bug. When I insert the
column, that column is selected and it shows on the screen as selected. Because
every row in the column is selected, in that column, when you insert row, you
insert a set of rows equal to the size of the table. This seems completely
consistent with my expectations and with the display on the screen.

PowerPoint 2007 operates slightly differently and perhaps it is a better model.

When you insert a row or column, that newly inserted row/column shows as
selected. If you click inside the selected area, the insertion works the same as
OOo. However, if you click outside the selected area, the area is deselected and
a single row/column is inserted instead.
Comment 4 Rainer Bielefeld 2009-03-26 07:06:44 UTC
@cemkaner:
Good oberervation! 
I can't understand why an inserted row remains highlighted/selected. For what
can that selection be useful? In WRITER tables and also in CALC a newly inserted
row (or column) will not be selected, and I prefer that behaviour.
Comment 5 Marcus 2017-05-20 10:47:56 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".