Issue 103411

Summary: i18npool|shell: merge getPlatformSystem[UI]Language and LocaleBackend::get[UI]Locale ?
Product: Internationalization Reporter: caolanm
Component: i18npoolAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: grakic, issues, philipp.lohmann
Version: DEV300m51   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux, all   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on: 103408    
Issue Blocks: 113496    

Description caolanm 2009-07-08 10:37:23 UTC
MsLangId::getPlatformSystemUILanguage
MsLangId::getPlatformSystemLanguage

and
 
LocaleBackend::getUILocale
LocaleBackend::getLocale

are very similar things, except MsLangId::getPlatformSystemUILanguage honours
LANGUAGE (which is a good thing IMO) while LocaleBackend::getUILocale doesn't and 
LocaleBackend::get[UI]Locale seems to have a more specific MACOSX implementation
than MsLangId::getPlatformSystem[UI]Language

i.e. see 
shell/source/backends/localebe/localebackend.cxx
i18npool/source/isolang/in[unx|wnt].cxx

Bottom-line is that for consistency I'd like to see OOo's default UI Language
resolve to first trying LANGUAGE if set. e.g. right now with...

[caolan@Vain ~]$ export LANG=fr_FR.utf8
[caolan@Vain ~]$ echo LANGUAGE=de_DE.utf8

and launching gedit I get a German UI, but launching OOo I get a French one

(http://www.gnu.org/s/libc/manual/html_node/Using-gettextized-software.html#Using-gettextized-software)
Comment 1 ooo 2009-07-08 15:23:18 UTC
Yes, seems reasonable. Btw, implementation needs to take into account that
LANGUAGE can contain a colon separated list of languages, which it currently
doesn't. As usual, reassigning to spare time account ;)
Comment 2 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:33:32 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".
Comment 3 oooforum (fr) 2020-02-10 14:54:10 UTC
*** Issue 113496 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***