Issue 106500

Summary: allow to show nonprinting characters like in writer also in calc
Product: Calc Reporter: meywer <mey.wer>
Component: formattingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: REOPENED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: acelists, cg, elish, kpfu.tcp.ip, michipoczta, smonsarr.junk, yazen
Version: 3.3.0 or older (OOo)   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: FEATURE Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description meywer 2009-10-30 17:00:23 UTC
Its ennoying, that if there is in a calc cell a string and after it a space
(which isn't shown), the auto-completition always wants to complete with this
space...
But when I want to delete this space, I have to find it, which is nearly
impossiblie missing the show-nonprinting-characters-option.
Comment 1 aceman_ooo 2009-10-31 20:41:46 UTC
This would be nice.
Comment 2 Edwin Sharp 2014-01-15 17:54:56 UTC
IMHO not useful.
Comment 3 Tatr 2019-02-07 12:41:00 UTC
I think it is usefull
Comment 4 Marcus 2019-02-10 14:53:32 UTC
I reopen this issue.

From the support forums (thanks David) there is the following use case:

"We do get occasional problems on the EN forum where a stray trailing non printing character causes unexpected problems with some formulae."
Comment 5 Yazen Zaghameem 2019-02-22 22:06:19 UTC
I too would find this feature useful, especially if we could set non-printing characters to display with a particular style (e.g red font).
Comment 6 Yazen Zaghameem 2019-02-22 22:14:01 UTC
Often times I am working with SQL data that has not been sanitized properly, and being able to readily differentiate non-printing characters (e.g spaces from tabs) would help in my use cases.
Comment 7 Everyday normal guy 2019-07-22 07:21:42 UTC
As Yazen stated, this would be very useful when exporting data to spreadsheets and trying to solve problems with the data.
Comment 8 CG 2019-09-09 15:40:34 UTC
This would be REALLY useful to me. I just traced an error in a PHP function to one random hard break in a cell in my source data CSV after a lot of trial and error. Would be very helpful to be able to click a button and quickly scan the sheet for weird characters.
Comment 9 Yazen Zaghameem 2019-09-09 16:10:52 UTC
Still interested in having this feature.  Would not have to rely on external applications if the proposed feature was implemented.