Issue 109050

Summary: Impress crashes when switching to another output device via FN+F5
Product: Impress Reporter: dkrogh <dkrogh63>
Component: viewingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P2 CC: Armin.Le.Grand, issues, j.nitschke, nesshof
Version: OOO320m12Keywords: crash, needmoreinfo
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: 4.1.0-beta
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
error message after display switch none

Description dkrogh 2010-02-08 16:08:33 UTC
When running a slideshow on a laptop with two connected output devices (e.g. the
laptop screen and another monitor) and switching between these devices via FN+F5
OpenOffice.org Impress crashes.
Comment 1 wolframgarten 2010-02-09 08:21:51 UTC
Have you been asked to send a crash report? Which error id did you receive?
Comment 2 Marcus 2010-02-09 10:34:48 UTC
set target
Comment 3 Marcus 2010-02-09 10:35:39 UTC
*** Issue 109054 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 4 wolframgarten 2010-02-12 09:24:34 UTC
Sorry, could not reproduce the problem. I use the OOO320_m12 official version on
an Acer Extensa 5220 with an additional TFT-Monitor attached. Switching with F5
works without problems. Have you been able to send a crash report? Is your
graphic crad driver updated?
Comment 5 wolframgarten 2010-02-12 10:14:49 UTC
For your record, your error report has the following id: rj3tgwc

Reassigned. @af: anything visible from the stack? Thanks.
Comment 6 groucho266 2010-03-05 08:55:42 UTC
I tried to reproduce this on a Desktop PC with two monitors under XP and Windows
7 by activating, deactivating and swapping screens.  No crash.
Comment 7 groucho266 2010-03-15 16:49:56 UTC
Tried this on another notebook.  Again, no crash.

This may be a duplicate of issue 103464, after all, and thus already fixed.
Comment 8 dkrogh 2010-03-18 11:38:57 UTC
It might be unclear from the description, so I clarify this here: The crash does
not happen immediately after hitting FN+F5, but when selecting another output
device combination.
Comment 9 groucho266 2010-06-07 16:29:06 UTC
*** Issue 104591 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 10 thorsten.ziehm 2010-06-14 14:43:42 UTC
OOo 3.2.1 is final and released. I set the target of this issue to OOo 3.3.
Perhaps the crash can be reproduced to find a fix. Otherwise please retarget
this issue again.
Comment 11 groucho266 2010-07-14 08:15:11 UTC
I can not reproduce this crash on a system with proper debugging support.

I have seen it once on a laptop and from the little information I could get this
looks like a driver problem.  Blacklisting the particular device (so that its
slideshow is not harware accelerated) seems to be our only option.  Waiting for
the necessary information.
Comment 12 Armin Le Grand 2014-02-24 20:36:14 UTC
Tried on laptop with win7 on 'AOO410m1(Build:9750)  -  Rev. 1569541', no crash, changed screen for presentation several times and restarted slideshow. I could not find any 'FN+F5' functionality at all. Probably not a valid bugreport anymore.
Comment 13 Marcus 2014-02-24 20:42:34 UTC
@dkrogh: Do you have the chance to test AOO 4.0.1 (or dev-build of 4.1.0) to see if it is still occurring in your environment? Otherwise I would suggest to close this issue. Thanks.
Comment 14 j.nitschke 2014-03-12 08:55:03 UTC
confirmed with AOO 4.1.0 beta on Windows Vista

setup:
Acer Laptop 1366x768
external display on VGA port 1280x1024
key to switch displays is Fn + F5

Steps to reproduce:
* open a slide
* run it (F5)
* switch display
   key down Fn
   press F5 till other display is selected
   key up Fn
-> Fatal Error
Could not create offscreen surface - out of memory!
Comment 15 j.nitschke 2014-03-12 08:56:42 UTC
Created attachment 82844 [details]
error message after display switch
Comment 16 Armin Le Grand 2014-03-17 16:38:00 UTC
What does 'FN+F5' on Acer Laptops? This is probably some special command stuff for screen reconfigure, please specify in more detail (but how to ever reproduce on other systems?).
Comment 17 j.nitschke 2014-03-17 17:14:57 UTC
(In reply to Armin Le Grand from comment #16)
> What does 'FN+F5' on Acer Laptops? This is probably some special command
> stuff for screen reconfigure, please specify in more detail (but how to ever
> reproduce on other systems?).

if it helps, colleague has a Toshiba laptop with the same key combination FN+F5 to switch screens.

FN+F5 shows an overlay with several available display configurations. Repeated key press lets you switch between these modes, like the ALT+TAB key combination on Windows.
For me it shows the modes, Laptop display, Laptop display + Second Display, Second Display, Beamer 600x800, Beamer 1024x786, Laptop display + Second Display (extended desktop)

Without a second display it shows only 1 mode and does nothing.
Comment 18 j.nitschke 2014-03-17 17:16:29 UTC
Wikipedia says since Windows 7 "Winkey + P" has a similar functionality.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_key#Windows_7
Comment 19 Marcus 2017-05-20 10:45:06 UTC
Reset the assignee to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".