Issue 114503

Summary: Colon in wrong location in Templates dialog, for RTL UI
Product: General Reporter: netanel
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: elish, issues, kaplanlior, timar74
Version: OOO320m2Keywords: Hebrew, needhelp
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Screenshot of the issue: in the left part of the wizard, the colons are in the right side which is wrong for RTL UI none

Description netanel 2010-09-14 21:56:54 UTC
In Impress start-wizard, the colons are always in the right side of the
sentence, which is OK for LTR, but wrong for RTL, as the colons are in the start
of the sentence instead of the end.

The relevant PO file for the wizard is svtools/source/dialogs.po, but the colons
aren't in any strings there, si it isn't a translation issue, but a code issue.

The easy solution is adding the colons to the relevant strings in the file, the
hard solution is a code fix, putting the colons at the left side of the sentence
for RTL UI.
Comment 1 netanel 2010-09-14 21:59:56 UTC
Created attachment 71692 [details]
Screenshot of the issue: in the left part of the wizard, the colons are in the right side which is wrong for RTL UI
Comment 2 kaplanlior 2010-09-14 23:47:27 UTC
Checking the source code, I could verify that the colon isn't part of the string
and thus not being visible for translators.

in svtools/source/contnr/templwin.src :

    321 StringArray STRARY_SVT_DOCINFO
    322 {
    323 	ItemList [ en-US ] =
    324 	{
    325 		< "Title" ; DI_TITLE ; > ;
    326 		< "By" ; DI_FROM ; > ;
    327 		< "Date" ; DI_DATE ; > ;
    328 		< "Keywords" ; DI_KEYWORDS ; > ;
    329 		< "Description" ; DI_DESCRIPTION ; > ;
    330 		< "Type" ; DI_MIMETYPE ; > ;
    331 		< "Modified on" ; DI_MODIFIEDDATE ; > ;
    332 		< "Modified by" ; DI_MODIFIEDBY ; > ;
    333 		< "Printed on" ; DI_PRINTDATE ; > ;
    334 		< "Printed by" ; DI_PRINTBY ; > ;
    335 		< "Subject" ; DI_THEME ; > ;
    336 		< "Size" ; DI_SIZE ; > ;
    337 	};
    338 	};

in svtools/source/contnr/templwin.cxx :
    792 void SvtExtendedMultiLineEdit_Impl::InsertEntry( const String& rTitle,
const String& rValue )
    793 {
    794 	String aText( '\n' );
    795 	aText += rTitle;
    796 	aText += ':';
    797 	InsertText( aText );

So if the string or it's container would have been set to RTL, than the location
of the colon would be right.
Comment 3 kaplanlior 2010-09-14 23:55:40 UTC
This might be relevant for windows only, as on oo.org 3.2.1 in Debian it looks
OK. Probably since the GTK interface makes the string RTL.
Comment 4 Olaf Felka 2010-09-15 07:14:43 UTC
reassigned
Comment 5 wolframgarten 2010-09-15 07:47:44 UTC
Sorry, but this is the templates and documents dialog, no the impress wizard.
Reassigned.
Comment 6 wolframgarten 2010-09-15 07:48:26 UTC
Component changed.
Comment 7 yarons 2010-09-16 19:29:45 UTC
I would like to add that ExtMultiLineEdit which is a decendant of MultiLineEdit
which is a decendant of Edit that they all does not support RTL (there is a
WB_RIGHT style but no WB_RTLLAYOUT or something like that, this component should
have such style in Windows).

Kind regards,
Yaron Shahrabani