Issue 122554

Summary: Bad layout in Tools>Customize dialog
Product: General Reporter: Andreas Säger <villeroy>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P3 CC: elish, hanya.runo, issues
Version: 3.4.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: 4.1.0-dev
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Screen shot of the customization dialog
none
Patch place save in listbox at the top of the customize dialog none

Description Andreas Säger 2013-06-18 10:13:27 UTC
Created attachment 80880 [details]
Screen shot of the customization dialog

Before you define a menu item, tool bar button or script event you have to be clear about the scope of your customization (component or document).

There is a small list box labeled "Save in" where you can choose one of the loaded documents or the whole component.

1. The list box should be more prominent on top of the respective dialog tab.
2. The list box could be a pair of option buttons similar to the 2 options on the tab for keyboard shortcuts.
Option #1: Component (default)
Option #2: Current document
3. The label "Save in" is too technical. I think that "Applies to" or even "Scope" would be more understandable.
Comment 1 Edwin Sharp 2013-12-19 19:33:46 UTC
Good suggestion.
Comment 2 hanya 2014-01-30 15:52:31 UTC
Created attachment 82439 [details]
Patch place save in listbox at the top of the customize dialog

The attached patch contains the changes for: 
- move "Save In" list at the top of the tab page
- change label from "Save In" to "Scope"
The following one is not contained in the patch.
>2. The list box could be a pair of option buttons similar to the 2 options on the tab for keyboard shortcuts.
>Option #1: Component (default)
>Option #2: Current document
Current tab page for customize keyboard shortcut supports only for 
genric among the modules or specific module. But the menu and toolbar customization 
pages support to store the setting in to the different document opened at that time.
Comment 3 Edwin Sharp 2014-01-30 15:55:31 UTC
Thank you hanya