Issue 124037

Summary: Can only select records from one table in creating a report or form
Product: Base Reporter: Lance <ld_corey>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, rb.henschel, villeroy
Version: 4.0.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description Lance 2014-01-16 17:59:14 UTC
When creating a Report or Form, I can only select the information from one Table when I have multiple Tables. Using the Wizard to create the Report, the previously selected information disappears from the window when the next Table is selected.

I have established Relationships between my Tables.
Comment 1 Andreas Säger 2014-01-16 20:18:35 UTC
Relations require a relational database.
Base is not a database at all. It is a limited tool to work with databases.
The (pseudo-) database you are working with is indicated on the status bar of your database document. 
Spreadsheets, text files (csv) and other pseudo-databases don't have any concept of relations. The built-in dBase driver does not support relations, but other dBase drivers may. MySQL, PostgreSQL, the built-in HSQL and many other database engines support relations and Base lets you create cross-table queries on these databases.
Comment 2 Lance 2014-01-16 20:52:06 UTC
So you are saying that Base is not a complete database like MS Access. So if I install MySQL, I will be able to use Base to control the information. 
But that still won't allow me to place information from several Tables on the same Report.

(In reply to Andreas Säger from comment #1)
> Relations require a relational database.
> Base is not a database at all. It is a limited tool to work with databases.
> The (pseudo-) database you are working with is indicated on the status bar
> of your database document. 
> Spreadsheets, text files (csv) and other pseudo-databases don't have any
> concept of relations. The built-in dBase driver does not support relations,
> but other dBase drivers may. MySQL, PostgreSQL, the built-in HSQL and many
> other database engines support relations and Base lets you create
> cross-table queries on these databases.
Comment 3 Regina Henschel 2014-01-16 21:26:47 UTC
MS Access is no complete database either, it uses the “Jet” database engine.

It is possible to use different tables. You need to use the "Form Navigator" from the toolbar "Form Design". Depending on the database engine a form based on a view might work too. I think, that this is not a bug, but support via mailing list or forum is needed. There has been published a new database user guide in LibreOffice project, based on a new German tutorial, which might give additional relevant information too. https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/images/e/e8/BH40-BaseHandbook.pdf