Issue 124292

Summary: Buttons in toolbar behave differently when docked or undocked
Product: General Reporter: bmarcelly <marcelly.bernard>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, marcelly.bernard, oliver.brinzing, rainerbielefeld_ooo_qa
Version: 3.3.0 or older (OOo)   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: 4.1.0-dev
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Simple extension with 2 buttons : dialog and message
none
Same extension for older versions (AOO 3.4, OOo 3.3) or LibreOffice
none
Simple Sample none

Description bmarcelly 2014-02-22 08:11:51 UTC
Created attachment 82661 [details]
Simple extension with 2 buttons : dialog and message

An extension  has a toolbar. When clicking on a button, a dialog is displayed.

- If the toolbar is docked, a first click opens the dialog; you cannot click any button of the toolbar until the dialog is closed.

- If the toolbar is undocked, you can click any button, including the same one, when the dialog is already opened. For example you can obtain a collection of opened dialogs.

The behaviour should be the same, docked or not.

IMHO the "docked behaviour" is preferable as it avoids unwanted side-effects.
If the extension designer wants to open several dialogs, he can do this from buttons in a first dialog.

I found the same problem on LibreOffice, so it is probably there since old versions.

Attachment contains a simple extension for Apache OpenOffice 4.0 providing a toolbar with 2 buttons :
- Button "Simple test dialog", that opens a dialog
- Button "Hello" only displays a Hello message

When undocked you can trigger a pile of dialogs and messages.
When docked, the first displayed message or dialog blocks all buttons of the toolbar.
Comment 1 bmarcelly 2014-02-22 08:15:52 UTC
Created attachment 82662 [details]
Same extension for older versions (AOO 3.4, OOo 3.3) or LibreOffice

If you want to test on other versions (AOO 3.4, OOo 3.3) or LibreOffice, use this extension.
Comment 2 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-22 11:57:38 UTC
Reproducible with server installation of "OOo 2.0.2 [680m5 (Build 9011)]" German WIN7 Home Premium (64bit):
1. If Necessary create new Toolbar MacrobuttonTest in menu 'Tools → Customize → 
   Toolbars', should contain text entries  Main1 what will start Macro Main1 
   and Main2 what will start Macro Main2
2. If necessary activate and undock  toobar MacrobuttonTest
3. In toolbar MacrobuttonTest click [Main1] 
   > Macro will start and show a message
4. In toolbar MacrobuttonTest click [Main2] 
   > Macro will start and show a second message

   2 Macros running, seems ok

5. Terminate both running with [ok] in all dialogs until no more macro 
   dialog visible
6. Dock Toolbar above document text area
7. In toobar MacrobuttonTest click [Main1] 
   > Macro will start and show a message 
8. In toolbar MacrobuttonTest click [Main2] 

   Different behavior, nothing happens              :-(
Comment 3 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-22 11:58:35 UTC
Created attachment 82667 [details]
Simple Sample

Demonstrates issue with all versions from AOO 2, see comment above (or instruction in document) how to use
Comment 4 Ariel Constenla-Haile 2014-02-22 13:05:08 UTC
This is the *general* behaviour of undocked toolbars, not only extension's toolbars, and it has to do with dialog modality and floating windows.

An example:

- New Writer document
- Undock the Standard toolbar
- Make sure that "Zoom" toolbar item is visible
- Click "Zoom" toolbar item: "Zoom & View Layout" dialog is executed modal, you cannot click items on the docked toolbars, but
-Click "Zoom" toolbar item on the undocked Standard toolbar: a second "Zoom & View Layout" dialog is executed

This is not only related to toolbars, but in general to docking windows:

- While the "Zoom & View Layout" dialog is executed, you cannot click any item in the sidebar
- Close the the "Zoom & View Layout" dialog
- Undock the Sidebar
- execute the "Zoom & View Layout" dialog: you can click the Sidebar's items while the dialog is being executed.
Comment 5 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-22 15:23:17 UTC
(In reply to Ariel Constenla-Haile from comment #4)
Yes! There might be some additional relations, but I can confirm Ariel's report that that difference can be observed at least in many cases.
Comment 6 Oliver Brinzing 2014-02-23 11:33:43 UTC
.