Issue 126877

Summary: Add option to control opening temp files as read-only
Product: Calc Reporter: Jason Spencer <spencer8>
Component: open-importAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P5 (lowest)    
Version: 4.1.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description Jason Spencer 2016-03-18 16:37:35 UTC
Issue 118332 and various posts on support forum (https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=21103, https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16570&start=0) have requested the ability to open temp files in read-write mode.  This is usually dismissed as "As Designed."  I submit the design is not user-friendly for all users.

My workflow is to download two auto-generated .csv's from a web page, sort them, and compare two like-values.  I have no need to persist any changes, and WANT to loose the changes and the temp files when I close.  Even so, the original data is obviously still available (on the web or in the email).  We risk very little letting users do sorts and view modifications.

This seems like a case of the tool complicating my workflow because it is convinced it knows better than me what I need.  I'm reasonably savvy, and am capable of paying for my own mistakes in lost changes, so I'd rather the tool let me decide.  I understand the design for less-savvy users, but certainly forcing everyone into that mode is not user friendly.  An option would allow each user to self-categorize.

FWIW, I'm away of the toolbar Edit button.  However, this has problems on Windows 7--see issue 126876.  Even so, I'd rather set the option once than add an extra click every time I want to review data.
Comment 1 Jason Spencer 2016-03-18 17:06:00 UTC
Just noticed Issue 73155 makes the same case, and points out implications in user experience.

Also, several of the arguments against this request usually state that the email client or web browser saves the file as read-only--what can OO do?  The answer is "make it writable."

Another response is, "Then if you change it and close it, the client may delete it afterwords and your changes are lost!"  My response is, "yeah, good."  There are many workflows using the great OO suite.  Things can be saved to pdf's, emailed straight from the app, manipulated for viewing purposes and thrown away, etc.  Making changes to save securely forever is one, but as other actions are supported, it becomes a less-frequent option.

Hope that helps show the community desire for this enhancement.
Comment 2 mroe 2016-03-18 17:35:49 UTC
Why not simply click the Edit button at the toolbar? This will ask you to create a copy of the document with that you can do what you want.