Issue 127808

Summary: Language Section specific only display applicable language(s)
Product: Writer Reporter: Tracey <Traceyad2032>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P5 (lowest) CC: hmatijak, oooforum
Version: 4.1.5   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
<print screen> random language displayed
none
paragraphs in Spanish (Mexico) and English (USA)
none
text detected as catalan
none
Text that was used as sample none

Description Tracey 2018-07-05 18:46:33 UTC
When editing a document with English and Spanish text...  only display applicable language(s).
Limit specific displayed languages to ones already used in the document.
Issue experienced below.
If there are any questions, please let me know.
Thanks, Tracey
-----------------------------------------------------------------
When I <right click> [Language Section] on task bar: Displays the language for the document... I see:

English (USA)
Luxembourgish <<<---randomly displays 1 or more non-applicable languages]
Spanish (Mexico)
None (Do not check spelling)
Reset to Default Language
More...
Set language for Paragraph
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Comment 1 oooforum (fr) 2018-07-06 13:48:34 UTC
Not reproduce with AOO 4.1.5 and Win7 x64 pro

With a document and English and French paragraphs, I just see these 2 languages.

So, provide a sample document and screenshot of what you described.
Comment 2 Tracey 2018-07-11 19:24:46 UTC
How can I add attachments?
If I add attachments I get switched to a new issue.
I clicked add comments, but I do not see where to add my <print screen> (documentation / evidence).
Does the status need to be removed from closed?

Please advise.
Thanks, Tracey
Comment 3 Tracey 2018-07-12 17:45:10 UTC
Created attachment 86452 [details]
<print screen> random language displayed

Spell Checking (one document/editing session) that is using the following languages- None (no spell check), English (USA), and Spanish (Mexico) (the 101 to 106 is just for sequence purposes):
OpenOfficeSpellCheck101 English (USA) Spanish (Spain)... the Spanish should be (Mexico)
OpenOfficeSpellCheck102 English (USA) Spanish (Spain) Spanish (Mexico)
OpenOfficeSpellCheck103 English (USA) Spanish (Mexico)
OpenOfficeSpellCheck104 English (USA) Spanish (Spain) Spanish (Mexico)
OpenOfficeSpellCheck105 English (USA) Spanish (Mexico)
OpenOfficeSpellCheck106 Catalan English (US) Spanish (Mexico)

It is a random issue but relatively easily repeatable: these were culled over a short period of time.
Maybe only only enumerate languages used in the active document.
Thanks, Tracey
Spain and Catalan show up frequently, but given enough time I can also send other European Languages that randomly show up also (including Luxembourgish and German).
Comment 4 oooforum (fr) 2018-07-17 07:30:54 UTC
*** Issue 127814 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 5 oooforum (fr) 2018-07-17 07:31:39 UTC
Well we have a screenshot and we wait a sample document.
Comment 6 Tracey 2018-07-17 18:04:10 UTC
[we wait a sample document.]
Are you saying you need a sample document from me?

Please advise, Tracey
It was just a Spanish & English Grammar text pasted into an oo and saved as a odt
Comment 7 Tracey 2018-07-17 18:57:09 UTC
I think the text I am spell checking is copy right-ed so I am a little hesitant to post the text.

Just FYI, Tracey
It is just plain text alternating each paragraph as Spanish then English.
Comment 8 Tracey 2018-07-19 19:13:54 UTC
Created attachment 86464 [details]
paragraphs in Spanish (Mexico) and English (USA)

Here is sample text and the <invalid> option for Spanish (Spain) appears at the first offending word during Spell Check :-)

The original Language Text was English (USA) and the Language of the Spanish text was changed to Spanish (Mexico).

Thank, Tracey
It is just the TOC so that should not be an issue with copyrights.
Comment 9 Hrvoje 2018-12-01 17:34:06 UTC
Tested on:
OS: MacOS: 10.14.1
OO Version: Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 (AOO416m1(Build:9790)  -  Rev. 1844436)
OO Version: Apache OpenOffice 4.1.5 (AOO415m1(Build:9789)  -  Rev. 1817496)

OS: Linux (Fedora release 28)
OO Version: Apache OpenOffice AOO420m1(Build:9800) - Rev. 1846402).

To select Default Language go to:
OpenOffice -> Preferences -> Language -> Under Default Language in the drop-down menu choose the language.

Tests:

T1:
1) Set Default Language: English US
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of English and Spanish paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Right click on the Language Selection bar
5) If the Spanish text isn't selected it will only show English language (english-eng-spa-01)
6) Select the paragraph that contains the text in Spanish
7) It shows both English and Spanish language (english-eng-spa-02)
8) Save Document as eng_eng_spa.odt
9) Close document
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

T2:
1) Set Default Language: Spanish (Mexican)
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of English and Spanish paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Right click on the Language Selection bar
5) It shows both English and Spanish (spanish_eng-spa.png)
6) Save Document as spa_eng_spa.odt
7) Close Document
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

T3:
1) Set Default Language: English US
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of English and German paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Right click on the Language Selection bar
5) It shows both English and German (english_eng-ger.png)
6) Save Document as eng_eng_ger.odt
7) Close Document
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

T4:
1) Leave the default language unset/unknown
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of German and Spanish paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Right click on the Language Selection bar
5) It shows multiple languages; English, Spanish, Catalan, German (unknown_ger_spa.png).
6) Close Document
This test case reproduces the issue. In this case text is detected as Catalan language, while there are no Catalan words in it.

T5:
1) Leave the default language unset/unknown
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of English and Spanish paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Right click on the Language Selection bar
5) It shows multiple languages; English, Spanish, German (unknown_eng_spa).
6) Close Document
This test case reproduces the issue.

T6:
1) Set Default Language: Spanish (Mexican)
2) Create a new document
3) Enter combination of English and Spanish paragraphs (provided in bug_text.txt)
4) Add some German words (besitzt) at random places in the sentence.
5) Right click on the Language Selection bar
6) It shows both English and Spanish (spanish_spa_eng_ger.png)
7) Save Document as spa_eng_spa.odt
8) Close Document
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

T7:
1) open document from test T5
2) open document from test T2
3) Right click on the Language Selection bar
4) It shows both English and Spanish (spanish_eng-spa.png)
5) Close Documents T5 and T2.
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

T8:
1) open document from test T5
2) open document from test T2
3) Right click on the Language Selection bar
4) It shows both English and Spanish (spanish_eng-spa.png)
5) Close Document T2
6) Repeat steps 2-5 20x
This test case doesn't reproduce the issue.

I was able to reproduce the behavior (random language appears in the menu) only when the default language wasn't set (tests: T4 and T5). In all other cases, the suggestion is matching the text in the document. In tests T7 and T8 I've tried to see if the behavior would appear over time, but couldn't reproduce the issue.
Comment 10 Hrvoje 2018-12-01 17:36:50 UTC
Created attachment 86557 [details]
text detected as catalan
Comment 11 Hrvoje 2018-12-01 17:37:33 UTC
Created attachment 86558 [details]
Text that was used as sample