Issue 15381

Summary: Ability to convert a linked image into an embedded image - keeping original image format
Product: General Reporter: kelvine <kelvineld>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: bluedzins, issues, kozodaevroman, Mathias_Bauer
Version: OOo 1.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description kelvine 2003-06-07 05:37:40 UTC
Hi,

The ability to convert a linked image to an embedded image easily would be 
appreciated.

I have noticed many people have problem in this area and when people link 
instead of embedding, the ability to quickly fix this would appear to help a 
lot of people.

Thanks

Kelvin
Comment 1 rblackeagle 2003-06-07 18:35:40 UTC
That would solve a problem for many people and would also permit me to
correct an error (when I left the "link" button marked but didn't want
a linked graphic).
Comment 2 stefan.baltzer 2003-07-22 17:52:05 UTC
There is a way:
 - Edit - Links
 - select the links you intend to break
 - Click "Break link"
 - OK
DONE.
Comment 3 kelvine 2003-07-23 00:46:47 UTC
Hi,

Thanks Stefan for providing this answer.

I've decided to reopen the issue and extend the requirement 
to "keeping the original image format".

This method does not keep the original format of the image.  It 
converts the image from say the original jpg to a png.  This results 
in significant file bloat.

I can't see any reason for the conversion.  As it is a link I would 
think it could only be converted if the picture exists.  If it 
exists, then why not just use the original image.

Thanks again.

Kelvin
Comment 4 stefan.baltzer 2003-07-24 09:45:59 UTC
Reassigned to Bettina.
Comment 5 kelvine 2004-02-04 23:59:42 UTC
I thought I would update the OOo release on old issues if still relevant.
Comment 6 borszczuk 2006-05-22 09:31:36 UTC
Any progress with this issue by any chance?
Comment 7 eric.savary 2006-10-16 13:31:09 UTC
*** Issue 70456 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 8 eric.savary 2007-03-14 11:23:00 UTC
*** Issue 75369 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 9 stefan.baltzer 2007-03-14 17:00:04 UTC
SBA: Just for the record, clean-up of flags:
 - Confirming this issue, set to "NEW"
 - Set Platform and OS to "All"
 - Set Componenet to "Framework" (as this affects graphics in all applications)
Comment 10 eric.savary 2008-02-01 20:39:10 UTC
*** Issue 83657 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 11 tommy27 2008-06-09 05:45:07 UTC
you could use this macro and assign it to an hotkey or to a toolbar button

Sub EmbedGraphics() 
 oDPage = ThisComponent.DrawPage 
 oProvider = createUnoService("com.sun.star.graphic.GraphicProvider") 
 Dim oProps(0) as new com.sun.star.beans.PropertyValue 
 oProps(0).Name  = "URL" 
  If oDPage.hasElements() Then 
   For I = 0 To oDPage.Count - 1 
    oGraph = oDPage.getByIndex(I) 
    If oGraph.supportsService("com.sun.star.text.TextGraphicObject") Then 
     oProps(0).Value = oGraph.GraphicUrl 
     oGraph.Graphic = oProvider.queryGraphic(oProps()) 
    End If 
   Next I 
 End If 
End Sub

credits to pablo from the Italian OOo Google Discussion Group:
http://groups.google.it/group/it-alt.comp.software.openoffice/browse_thread/
thread/6bec404f1345b1fd/c03a52b8074f73d2?hl=it#c03a52b8074f73d2
Comment 12 eric.savary 2008-11-19 01:15:25 UTC
*** Issue 95947 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 13 bettina.haberer 2010-05-21 14:53:14 UTC
To grep the issues easier via "requirements" I put the issues currently lying on
my owner to the owner "requirements".