Issue 16785

Summary: Layer named "Background"
Product: Draw Reporter: samuelhartmann <samuel.hartmann>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: ACCEPTED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, petko, rb.henschel
Version: OOo 1.0.3   
Target Milestone: AOO Later   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
URL: https://bugs.documentfoundation.org/show_bug.cgi?id=67248
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: 4.1.6
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
A drawing containing an object in a Layer named "Background" none

Description samuelhartmann 2003-07-13 16:48:05 UTC
Hello OOo-developers

I have found a bug in the OpenOffice.org Draw.
In english versions it not possible to create a layer called "Background". When
I try to create it, the following error message appears: "The name chosen
already exists. Please enter another name." But there is no layer called
"Background".

So far this is not a big problem. But in localised versions of OpenOffice.org it
is possible to create a Layer with the Name "Background". When a document
containing a layer called "Background" is opened by an english version of OOo.
The Layer "Background" disappears and the object do not seem to belong to any
layer anymore. It is not possible anymore to turn off the visibility of the
object that were in the background layer or to lock these object for editing.

The same problem exists in the opposite direction. English versions can create
Layers called "Hintergrund". In german versions the cannot be a Layer called
"Hintergrund".


Best Regards

Samuel
Comment 1 samuelhartmann 2003-07-13 16:50:31 UTC
Created attachment 7630 [details]
A drawing containing an object in a Layer named "Background"
Comment 2 wolframgarten 2003-07-14 08:11:58 UTC
This is reproduceable in version 1.1.beta2 and in a current internal
one. Please have a look. 
Comment 3 andree 2003-07-19 04:43:06 UTC
This still exists in 1.1rc1 on Linux.

Can we please change the status from UNCONFIRMED to NEW.

Cheers
Andree
Comment 4 clippka 2003-07-21 13:04:18 UTC
yes this is a valid issue
Comment 5 clippka 2003-09-11 10:34:36 UTC
.
Comment 6 marc.neumann 2003-09-19 13:34:27 UTC
"According to the OpenOffice.org roadmap
(http://tools.openoffice.org/releases) this issue was retargeted to
OOo Later."
Comment 7 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:29:24 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".
Comment 8 Peter 2019-08-25 20:45:18 UTC
I can confirm it in 4.1.6.
I first thought the compare might complain about it because background object is used in the master Slide. So If I create "Background Fun" this is working. Also "BACKGROUND" is working. So I think that is not it.
Comment 9 Regina Henschel 2019-08-25 21:50:30 UTC
I have fixed that in LibreOffice, see URL above. If you like the fix you may use my solution with Apache License, Version 2.0.
But I'm afraid, however, that the code has become so far apart that major adjustments are needed.
Comment 10 Peter 2019-08-27 20:08:44 UTC
Thanks regina. I have put it on my special list.