Issue 25113

Summary: Color of the underlined text
Product: Writer Reporter: nderezic <nderezic>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: ace_dent, che, cs213296, issues
Version: OOo 1.1Keywords: needmoreinfo, oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
A OpenOffice Writer file with + a screenshot of the problem none

Description nderezic 2004-02-05 13:39:48 UTC
When applying a new color (i.e. red) to an underlined text, the color of the 
line also changes (to red), but only if the first underlined character and the 
first collored character are the same (the line AND the new color start at the 
same character). Althoug the new color is applyed only to the first few 
underlined characters (red), which leaves all rest of the underlined 
characters uncolored, the color of the line is the same (red) to the end of 
the underlined block.
Comment 1 nderezic 2004-02-05 13:45:24 UTC
Created attachment 12902 [details]
A OpenOffice Writer file with + a screenshot of the problem
Comment 2 mci 2004-02-06 08:50:13 UTC
set target...
Comment 3 h.ilter 2004-05-27 14:52:43 UTC
A case for FME
Comment 4 frank.meies 2004-05-27 15:25:58 UTC
Changed prio.
Comment 5 velic 2005-02-04 03:01:28 UTC
Successfully replicated on WinXP SP2 OOo 1.1.4.  The underline takes on the 
colour of the first character in the line.  Consequently, if we have 3 words 
of the same colour next to each other underlined with a single line, changing 
the colour of the middle word does not change the colour of the line 
underneath the middle word.  The bug seems to be absent from an earlier 
version of OO 1.0.2.
Comment 6 erpel 2005-05-04 22:24:05 UTC
The problem still exists on Linux, 1.9.m95 and 1.9.m100.
Comment 7 ace_dent 2006-03-13 11:55:41 UTC
Tested with OOo 2.0, WinXP.

- New Writer document.
- Type "dt" then press F3 to produce test text.
- Select four words and select Underline from toolbar.
- Change colour of first word (black>red), changes the underline colour for all
words to red.
- However, if applying Underline through 'Character'>'Font Effects', you may
specify the colour of the underline to remove this problem; or when selecting
Underline 'individual words', again the problem is solved.

I would suggest this actually functions as designed and is not a bug.
->'nderezic', how would you like to see this function enhanced? What would you
consider to be a more correct behaviour?

Regards,
Andrew
Comment 8 Mechtilde 2006-12-01 20:20:21 UTC
It still exist in OOE680_m5
Comment 9 p9w.vu.31122010 2007-05-24 05:34:51 UTC
It still exist in OOF680_m17 (RC2 for 2.2.1)
Comment 10 thackert 2007-09-02 17:16:28 UTC
This problem still exists under Debian AMD64 SID and OOo 2.3 RC1 ... :(
@nderezic: Could you please answer ace_dent's question?
Comment 11 eric.savary 2009-08-13 11:33:35 UTC
*** Issue 104202 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***