Issue 26448

Summary: undesirable line break when object is followed by a punctuation mark
Product: Writer Reporter: Regina Henschel <rb.henschel>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: general, issues, mey.wer
Version: OOo 1.1 RCKeywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
shows line break between formula and punctuation mark
none
Example with quoted word 'kn[ew]' broken up undesirably
none
Should not be a line break in "102(e)" none

Description Regina Henschel 2004-03-13 23:28:52 UTC
When a punctuation mark immediately follows a formula and a line break is
necessary, then it breaks just before the punctuation mark, so that it stands
alone on the new line.
I would expect, that a formula will act as a letter and will be taken to the new
line together with the punctuation mark. Because it is anchored _as_ character,
I expect that it is really handled as character.
The workaround to put a non-breaking space between formula and punctuation mark
- which helps sometimes with other undesirable line breaks - does not work here.
Comment 1 Regina Henschel 2004-03-13 23:31:51 UTC
Created attachment 13777 [details]
shows line break between formula and punctuation mark
Comment 2 michael.ruess 2004-03-16 12:15:32 UTC
MRU->FME: I also think, that the puctuation mark should stick to the
frame/object it follows to. In the attached sample, you can see our behaviour
inside the frame. I was also able to create such a situation in a normal text
line when a formula object is followed by a full stop.
Comment 3 frank.meies 2004-03-22 07:47:06 UTC
FME->MRU: I see the problem. Objects anchored as characters are allowed to break
the line. This can be easily changed, but you should consider, that many many
old documents will change their layout, if we change our behaviour here. This
could be solved by a compatibility flag (any ideas for a good name?). Please
discuss with user experience, if we really want to change this.
Comment 4 lohmaier 2004-03-22 21:13:00 UTC
my 2 ct.:
As a user I have put the puctuation mark into the formula to circumvent that
problem. So I bet that changing this won't hurt anybody. Even if it may break
the layout in rare cases.
IMHO the new option "use printer metrics for document formatting" has more
impact than this one.
Comment 5 frank.meies 2004-03-30 12:39:35 UTC
FME->cloph: "use printer metrics for document formatting" is an option, which is
saved with the document and the default for old documents is "true". Therefore
it does not change the layout of old documents.
Comment 6 edsuom 2004-06-03 18:06:59 UTC
This is also a problem with text, where brackets are sometimes used within
words. See attached file 'example-break.sxw', where the word quoted as 'kn[ew]'
(around the middle of the paragraph) is broken up but shouldn't be.
Comment 7 edsuom 2004-06-03 18:08:31 UTC
Created attachment 15663 [details]
Example with quoted word 'kn[ew]' broken up undesirably
Comment 8 michael.ruess 2004-06-04 08:43:02 UTC
MRU->BH: FME is right, this could only be solved by something like a
compatibility flag. Old documents will look differently if we do a change of
behaviour as a "fix".
Comment 9 lohmaier 2004-06-29 21:47:31 UTC
Yes, agreed. My fault.

regarding comments from edsuom:
Your problem is different from that handled in this issue. Please see issue
19716 (already fixed for OOo 2.0)
Comment 10 edsuom 2004-10-12 22:36:27 UTC
I think this issue is a DEFECT, not an enhancement, and deserves much higher
priority. Because of it, OOo all too often decides to put a line break between a
number and a left parenthesis. In my legal-type writing, there are a lot of such
cases: 35 U.S.C. 102(b), Fig. 1(b), etc. When it does, there is absolutely no
way for me to prevent the line break except forcing a line break before the
number, and that prevents the right edge of the paragraph from lining up
properly with the justified formatting that I use.

See attached example file.
Comment 11 edsuom 2004-10-12 22:39:30 UTC
Created attachment 18325 [details]
Should not be a line break in "102(e)"
Comment 12 spqrdecker 2005-01-10 17:51:15 UTC
This is not only a problem with formulas.  The polytonic (accented) Greek font
that I use makes accents, etc. from punctuation (it's called BetaCode and is a
system for entering accented Greek in regular ascii characters).  This means
that a lowercase alpha with an acute accent is typed like this:  a/, and the
font is designed in such a way as to put the accent over the previous character.
 Thus the word profron (='kindly minded') is typed as pro/frwn.  The problem is
that OpenOffice will break the word at the accent because it is punctuation.  It
seems that the best solution for this problem would be to have OO only make line
breaks at actual spaces rather than at punctuation (except when followed by a
space).
Comment 13 spqrdecker 2005-01-10 17:51:46 UTC
This is not only a problem with formulas.  The polytonic (accented) Greek font
that I use makes accents, etc. from punctuation (it's called BetaCode and is a
system for entering accented Greek in regular ascii characters).  This means
that a lowercase alpha with an acute accent is typed like this:  a/, and the
font is designed in such a way as to put the accent over the previous character.
 Thus the word profron (='kindly minded') is typed as pro/frwn.  The problem is
that OpenOffice will break the word at the accent because it is punctuation.  It
seems that the best solution for this problem would be to have OO only make line
breaks at actual spaces rather than at punctuation (except when followed by a
space).
Comment 14 Regina Henschel 2006-06-03 15:07:59 UTC
Please see also issue 2548 and decide which one should be closed.
Comment 15 therealorion 2008-03-13 23:35:32 UTC
Now that this "feature" has been implemented, using parenthetical citations in a
document often makes the programme think that I'm entering a formula because I
have one word that end in a quotation mark, and the next starts with a bracket,
like so:

"This is a quotation" (Bicklesworth 75). 

What I end up with, then, is a big, ugly gap at the end of a line for no
apparent reason. There really needs to be a way to turn this "feature" off. 
Comment 16 meywer 2008-08-09 12:50:54 UTC
cc
Comment 17 bettina.haberer 2010-05-21 14:44:51 UTC
To grep the issues easier via "requirements" I put the issues currently lying on
my owner to the owner "requirements".