Issue 26991

Summary: Include Preset Macros and Macro Wizard to Allow for easy MS Access Switchboard type DBMS Navigation
Product: Base Reporter: vreid47362 <vaughn_reid_iii>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: REOPENED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, kpalagin
Version: OOo 1.0.0   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description vreid47362 2004-03-26 11:37:53 UTC
I have found that one of the features that OOO lacks is an easy way to create a
Navigation menu for a Database Management System, i.e. a MS Access type
switchboard.  This menu would include buttons to open, print, or close forms,
tables, reports, etc.

MS Access and Lotus Approach seem to tackle this task by using a macro wizard
with several preset navigation and task macros to help non-programmers create
the buttons necessary to place on both the switchboard and the individual forms,
etc.

I would like to see OOO implement a quick and easy way to create a DBMS
switchboard and to implement navigation buttons on individual parts of the user
designed database system.  Ideally, these buttons could be assigned their
functions through an intuitive and easy to use dialog box interface.

Here are some suggestions for macros to include:
1.  Open a form
2.  Open a report
3.  Open a query
4.  Close a form
5.  Close a report
6.  Close a query
7.  Print a blank form
8.  Implement a stored search
9.  Maximize a form, table, or query
10.  Minimize a form, table, or query
11.  Exit OOO

Good luck and thanks for your hard work.

Vaughn L. Reid III
Comment 1 marc.neumann 2004-03-26 12:36:32 UTC
reassign to bh for evaluating this enhancement
Comment 2 rblackeagle 2004-03-27 02:13:25 UTC
Having had my nightmares setting up any sort of DBMS system in OOo, I would love
to see this feature.
Comment 3 brucehohl 2006-01-16 01:13:41 UTC
It was suggested in issue 49441 that this type of enhancement may require having
the macros within the odb file.

Issue 49133 request "to put macros in *.odb file".

I agree 100% with both issues 26991 and 49133.  A container area for
Macros/Scripts/Code and the described wizard here would be very helpful in
making the use of Base more efficient.
Comment 4 Mechtilde 2009-07-19 17:47:37 UTC
with openOffice.org 3.1 the base container can also include makros
I think this works for me

Comment 5 Mechtilde 2009-07-19 17:49:20 UTC
-> closed
Comment 6 vreid47362 2009-07-19 22:16:42 UTC
Simply providing the ability to include macros in the base component does not
address the enhancement that I opened.  

I want to see some generic code and wizards to help end-users utilize this code
that performs the following:  

Here are some suggestions for macros to include:
1.  Open a form
2.  Open a report
3.  Open a query
4.  Close a form
5.  Close a report
6.  Close a query
7.  Print a blank form
8.  Implement a stored search
9.  Maximize a form, table, or query
10.  Minimize a form, table, or query
11.  Exit OOO

The model I envision when I think of this enhancement request is the macro
creation tools that were included with Lotus Approach.


Comment 7 safway 2009-07-21 15:03:39 UTC
I agree with vreid47362.  Tools | Macros | Organize Macros | OpenOffice.org
Basic | OpenOffice.org Macros already contains sample macros.  Why not include
some samples of the *right* way to do it in this location?  There is no extra
work needed to create yet another container but simply to include the sample
macros here in this location.  Then let us do the work of pointing people who
want them to them.

Comment 8 Frank Schönheit 2009-08-10 19:33:14 UTC
Do you volunteer to create a bunch of such macros? If so, I'd offer my help for
getting them into the product.
Comment 9 safway 2009-08-11 20:08:44 UTC
I'm certainly no programmer.  Once sample macros on how to do this were in
OpenOffice.org, I was offering to help communicate to end users their existence
via user forums I assist on such as
http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/ and http://www.oooforum.org/forum/
.  :-)

I think vreid47362 worded it well when he said he wished there was "some generic
code and wizards to help end-users utilize this code" within OO.o somewhere.

Side note: My emphasis on the word *right* was because I know some of the code I
have borrowed from others to make my documents work were using non-standard
calls that were not formally the way to do it and the macros stopped working
when I upgraded OO.o.
Comment 10 vreid47362 2009-08-11 20:19:34 UTC
By far, the database application that I've used over the years that was easiest
to create macros for was Lotus Approach, which was part of Lotus Smart Suite. 
This product had an extensive macro creation "guide/wizard" that make it very
simple for non-programmers to do basic automation tasks using macros.

Since IBM/Lotus is implementing Lotus Symphony to replace Lotus Smart Suite,
they may be interested in this issue also.  

In addition, I agree with safway.  The macros or code generator or whatever the
end product is needs to be based on good coding practices that use stable API's,
not half-off hacks that may not work from version to version.

Also, there are two extensions by Roberto Benitez: 
http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/project/SwitchBoard and
http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/project/BaseTools that provide some of
the base macro creation and switchboard creation functionality that needs to be
included.  I believe that this code could be added to and made accessible in a
user-friendly set of rapid application development wizards to get some of the
needed functionality into the Base product.  This functionality could even be
maintained as an extension and installed like the Sun Report Builder.
Comment 11 safway 2009-08-11 21:00:29 UTC
From previous communications I understand if licensing agreements allow, that
OO.o development team might take those very good addons and make them part of
the core OO.o product.

vreid47362's comment that "this functionality could even be maintained as an
extension" might dovetail into those plans.  I note, however, that their are
already extensions to do this.  Therefore, it might be less work for the
developers if they simply work with the already-existing extensions????

For me, the extension at
http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/project/SwitchBoard almost does it
except for the "The extension can only be opened from a Registered Base
document." requirement.

Disclosure: I am in no way affiliated with the creator of any extension.
Comment 12 bettina.haberer 2010-05-21 14:39:48 UTC
To grep the issues easier via "requirements" I put the issues currently lying on
my owner to the owner "requirements".