Issue 46748

Summary: DataPilot overwrite contents behavior friendliness
Product: Calc Reporter: aziem <ahz001>
Component: formattingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, powolters
Version: OOo 1.1.4   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description aziem 2005-04-05 21:15:37 UTC
When creating a new DataPilot with the results to a non-empty destination, a
dialog comes up "The destination range is not empty.  Overwrite existing contents?"

If the user clicks no, the DataPilot closes.  The user returns to the
spreadhseet and loses the DataPilot configuration.  The loss is unexpected and
undesirable.

I suggest more friendly behavior that allows the user to change the destination
to a non-empty location.  For example, when clicking No, the user would return
to the DataPilot instead of the spreadsheet.
Comment 1 frank 2005-04-15 10:14:19 UTC
not a defect but an enhancement request. Re-assigned to requirements
Comment 2 pieterwolters 2007-09-16 20:09:00 UTC
Yess, user friendliness could be enhanced by:
* stating "Results to:" as "New Sheet" as default instead of "undefined"
* and/or Remove "MORE" button en show default also the "Result" windowpart.
* and/or indeed design an action as aziem describes

This thing irritates me everytime I use the datapilot because I never ever
overwrite the existing area.