Issue 46854

Summary: Paste icon is never active in Draw text boxes
Product: Writer Reporter: midcain <midcain>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: OOo 2.0 BetaKeywords: needmoreinfo, oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Test Case for Copy and Paste Problem none

Description midcain 2005-04-06 16:39:37 UTC
I am working on an Intel 2.8 Ghz system running the OpenOffice 2.0 Beta on
Windows XP.  I was working in Writer on a document containing a number of
different text fields and two pictures, updating an older document of similar
type.  I attempted to copy and paste from one to the other, and the clipboard
seemed to lose the data.  The paste or clipboard icons never lit up, the context
menu never added a paste option, and the edit menu "paste" remained dark.  I
attempted to copy and paste within the document I was working on, and recieved
similar results.  I repeated the attempt with CUT.  The text dissappeared as
expected, but the paste option still stubbornly refuses to work, icons and words
still stay dark.
Comment 1 michael.ruess 2005-04-06 16:43:39 UTC
Reassigned to ES.
Comment 2 eric.savary 2005-04-06 16:51:19 UTC
Please attach a sample document.
Comment 3 midcain 2005-04-06 23:05:46 UTC
Created attachment 24763 [details]
Test Case for Copy and Paste Problem
Comment 4 midcain 2005-04-07 18:58:45 UTC
So far I have been unable to reproduce the copy and paste problem in other
documents.  The original was put together by an associate of mine, so it turns
out that the text fields are not to blame.  I believe they are drawn-in boxes
with text written in.  The conditions that cause this problem seem to be unique
to the sample document and derivatives thereof.
Comment 5 eric.savary 2005-04-22 07:11:01 UTC
Well, it is possible to copy paste (using the keyboard) but the Paste icon (and
menu entry) is never active in Draw text boxes. That's a minor bug.
Comment 6 ace_dent 2008-05-15 00:08:49 UTC
This Issue requires more information ('needmoreinfo'), but has not been updated
within the last year. Please re-test with one of the latest versions of OOo -
the problem(s) may have already been addressed. Either use the recent stable
version: http://download.openoffice.org/index.html
or consider trying the new OOo 3 BETA (still in testing):
http://download.openoffice.org/3.0beta/

Please report back the outcome so this Issue may be closed or progressed as
necessary - otherwise it may be Resolved as Invalid in the future. You may also
wish to search for (and note) any duplicates of this Issue that may have
advanced further :
http://www.openoffice.org/issues/query.cgi

Many thanks,
Andrew

Cleaning-up and Closing old Issues as part of:
~ The Grand Bug Squash, pre v3 ~
Comment 7 Rob Weir 2013-07-30 02:22:11 UTC
Reset assignee on issues not touched by assignee in more than 2000 days.