Issue 53214

Summary: "Insert fields" should be to currently selected layer
Product: Draw Reporter: Rainer Bielefeld <rainerbielefeld_ooo_qa>
Component: formattingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P5 (lowest) CC: issues
Version: 680m122   
Target Milestone: AOO Later   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
Issue Type: FEATURE Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on: 53212    
Issue Blocks:    

Description Rainer Bielefeld 2005-08-11 13:11:35 UTC
This is a "spin off" from issue 53212.

I have some difficulites to understand the actual design, that inserts "Fields"
always to layer "Layout", even if an other layer is selected. That is
unexpected, and unexpected always is bad.
Per comments from cl Thu Aug 11 04:43:07 -0700 2005 in issue 53212 Layer
"Layout" is for "controls" (what ever "Controls" might be), but what for layer
"Controls" might be? 
There seems to be no sense in inserting such things like "Author" into the
normal workspace. These things should be in a soparate layer, where they can
easily be hidden, locked or what ever the user might want.

So please change design so that "insert fields" will be be to the currently
selected layer, what IMHO is the expected ebhaviour.
Comment 1 wolframgarten 2005-08-11 13:15:26 UTC
I have already reopened the bug for the controls being inserted on the controls
layer.
Reassigned.
Comment 2 ace_dent 2008-05-16 00:21:38 UTC
OpenOffice.org Issue Tracker - Feedback Request.

The Issue you raised is currently assigned to 'Requirements' pending review, but
has not been updated within the last 3 years. Please consider re-testing with
one of the latest versions of OOo, as the problem(s) may have already been
addressed. Either use the recent stable version:
http://download.openoffice.org/index.html
or consider trying the new OOo 3 BETA (still in testing):
http://download.openoffice.org/3.0beta/
 
Please report back the outcome so this Issue may be Closed or Progressed as
necessary - otherwise it may be Resolved as Invalid in the future. You may also
wish to search for (and note) any duplicates of this Issue that may have
advanced further by checking the Issue Tracker:
http://www.openoffice.org/issues/query.cgi
 
Many thanks,
Andrew
 
Cleaning-up and Closing old Issues as part of:
~ The Grand Bug Squash, pre v3 ~
http://marketing.openoffice.org/3.0/announcementbeta.html