Issue 53424

Summary: Give option to limit reforatting process on visible area
Product: Writer Reporter: mikael_lyngvig <mikael>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: OOo 1.1.4   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description mikael_lyngvig 2005-08-17 03:08:37 UTC
Hi,

I've got a huge 700 page document (that I cannot give you).  When copying and
pasting a single sentence into it, OO Writer is very slow.  The paste operation
completes immediately, but then OO Writer becomes "hangy" for a while, then
editing can continue.  It is as if a background check is started after the
paste, which then makes OO Writer very annoyingly non-reacting for about 15
seconds after which OO Writer then again runs perfectly smoothly.  This may be
due to AutoCorrect being run on the entire document, whenever something is
pasted, rather than just the text pasted into the document.  It has been my
experience that pasting into an OO Writer document gets slower and slower the
larger the document gets.  

Couldn't you somehow limit the part of the document that needs to be rescanned?
 Perhaps the current page, perhaps the last chapter (there's no chapters in my
document, which is simply my diary, so that wouldn't help me).

Apart from this "lagginess" on paste operations, OO Writer works really well
with large documents.  


Sincerely,

Mikael Lyngvig
Comment 1 michael.ruess 2005-08-17 09:03:51 UTC
Problem is, that the document needs to be reformatted when text is inserted. It
needs to be checked if there are new/moed page breaks, objects and so on.

Maybe to offer a possibility to reduce the process on an area around the visible
view could be a good thing for such complex ocuments.
Comment 2 mikael_lyngvig 2007-06-15 01:53:25 UTC
It has been a while since I submitted this report.  In the meantime I have
switched to a much faster computer (Athlon 4800+ 64 X2) and don't seem to have
the problem here.  I think the idea of adding an option to limit processing to a
particular area is not that good; someday there could be hundreds of odd options
added to compensate for this or that odd behavior on this or that odd machine. 
As far as I am concerned, this issue can be closed again.