Issue 54551

Summary: Drag/Drop between docs does not work
Product: Calc Reporter: mtrausch <fd0man>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: OOO 2.0 Beta2Keywords: crash, oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description mtrausch 2005-09-13 13:38:57 UTC
I was working on a spreadsheet to try to move some data out of it and into a new
one to help "filter" some things which would not fit into a programmable filter
into a new sheet for later analysis, and as I was doing so found that OO.o Beta
2 would completely lock up with a message box displaying an error message:  "The
content of the clipboard is bigger than the range selected.  Do you want to
insert it anyway?"  Sometimes, the error "Insert into multiple selection not
possible" comes up, instead.

The mouse icon changes to that which you find when you're dragging and dropping
content, and the message box does not respond to clicking "Yes," "No," or the X
widget located on the top-right of the window.  The mouse icon does not change
away from that unless you place it in another application's window, such as
Firefox.  You are not able to interact with the window which is the parent of
the message box, and you are not able to interact with the window which has the
starting dataset, either.

In addition, Windows XP does not detect the application as "Not Responding," it
still shows "Running" status.  The window can then no longer be resized, gain or
lose "focus", or anything else; the only way to exit is to use the Windows Task
Manager to forcibly close OpenOffice Calc.

I am not able to test this in any other combination of OS/CPU, however, the
problem is reproducible via the following steps:

 * Create a sample data-set:
   * Select cell A1 and enter "tst 1".
   * "Drag" to the right to the H column, so that it reads Tst 1 - Tst 8.
   * "Drag" down to row 26 so that you populate it with data.
   * You should have 1A - 26H full of data now.
 * Press CTRL+N or select the New button on the Toolbar, or select
   File -> New -> Spreadsheet from the menu.
 * Expose the bug:
   * Position the windows so that you can select and drag data.
   * Highlight rows 1 and 2 of the data-populated sheet.
   * Drag the highlighted data to the new spreadsheet, row 1.
   * Highlight row 3 of the data-populated sheet.
   * Drag the highlighted data to the new spreadsheet, row 3.

This process perfectly duplicates the "Insert into multiple selection not
possible" error.  However, I can apparently only duplicate the clipboard error
message at the moment with the original dataset that I'm using at work; I am
attempting to come up with another dataset that can reproduce the error in question.
Comment 1 mtrausch 2005-09-13 13:40:28 UTC
For informational purposes; The version ID of OpenOffice is 1.9.125, the version
ID for Windows XP SP2 that this is running on is 5.1.2600, and the machine is a
32-bit IA32 (Pentium M) running a 32-bit version of Windows XP.
Comment 2 frank 2005-09-13 14:57:16 UTC
Hi Niklas,

I get the 'Insert into multiple selection' Warning if I d&d some values with
pressed CTRL key into an filled area. A click on the Ok button of the dialog
will do nothing. Opening the context menu on the corresponding entry located in
the task bar will put this window into the background. Clicking on it again will
bring it to the front and you can work as expected.

Frank

PS. Have a look if it's possible for 2.0.1
Comment 3 mtrausch 2005-09-13 15:03:19 UTC
Confirmed that the temporary workaround preventing the apparent freeze works.
Comment 4 Rainer Bielefeld 2005-09-13 15:11:59 UTC
All effects as per "Additional comments from fst Tue Sep 13 06:57:16 -0700 2005"
but with my 2.0 (1.9.m125) German version WIN XP: [680m125(Build8947)] I was not
able to get back full control to the OOo windows. I was able to resize them by
kontext menu in start bar, but no access to spreadsheet content and user interface.
 
There was no abnormal processor load. 
Comment 5 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:13:31 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".