Issue 54839

Summary: Installation breakdowns while install directory-path contains Chinese Characters
Product: Installation Reporter: bacon_1982 <bacon.peng>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: issues
Version: OOO 2.0 Beta2   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
the screenshot of the problem.
none
screenshot1.PNG
none
screenshot2
none
screenshot3
none
screenshot4
none
capture_inst_failure
none
capture_region_settings none

Description bacon_1982 2005-09-20 03:11:11 UTC
Hi,I am a Chinese user,and I think your product(v1.9.125) has a little bug on 
Chinese characters.I put the install directory in a path containing CHN chars
(e.g. "c:\documents and settings\...\æ¡Œé¢\"),after the install sheild generated 
the installing scripts, an error message was raised 
saying "....openofficeorg1.cab cannot be found.".The file was indeed 
existed.But when I moved the install directory to a non-CHN-Char path(e.g. c:\)
the install sheild went on well. 
I made a screenshot but couldnot find place to post it.If you cannot represent 
the error state,please tell me how to post the pic to you.
Comment 1 bacon_1982 2005-09-20 03:13:36 UTC
Created attachment 29693 [details]
the screenshot of the problem.
Comment 2 Olaf Felka 2005-10-05 11:38:19 UTC
of @ is: Is there something we can do in this case?
Comment 3 ingo.schmidt-rosbiegal 2005-10-12 10:49:18 UTC
IS ->  	bacon_1982: Did you use the correct  "Regional and language settings in
the control panel"? We tested this successfully after changing this settings.
Comment 4 bacon_1982 2005-10-12 15:15:20 UTC
I've checked all the region-related settings and all the options are swithed 
to simplified Chinese, and I'm afraid that I've never changed these settings.
Comment 5 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:44:07 UTC
I can confirm his problem.

bacon_1982, if you set [Regional and Language Option]=>Advance=>[Language for
non-Unicode programs] to the Chinese you're using, then it should work.

On Windows XP, I figure that the program before the actual installer load is
non-unicode (I don't know how to call that program, but then, it's the "loader"
and the first 3 screens). And the installer itself is. Please take a look at the
screenshots I made for 2.0rc2.

I think we should try to deal with this before the release of 2.0 final.
Comment 6 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:45:15 UTC
Created attachment 30461 [details]
screenshot1.PNG
Comment 7 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:45:51 UTC
Created attachment 30462 [details]
screenshot2
Comment 8 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:46:16 UTC
Created attachment 30463 [details]
screenshot3
Comment 9 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:47:05 UTC
Created attachment 30464 [details]
screenshot4
Comment 10 pplwong 2005-10-14 21:51:21 UTC
Screenshot 1-3 are the program before the actual installer. And screenshot 4 is
the installer itself.

Note that screenshot 1-3 doesn't show Chinese correctly, and screenshot 4 does.
All show Chinese correct if I change that [Language for non-Unicode programs] to
Traditional Chinese instead of English.

I'm sure that bacon1982's problem is also a unicode problem. (I don't know if I
should open a new issue for the problems illustrated in my 4 screenshots, since
it looks like it's related problem to this one.)
Comment 11 bacon_1982 2005-10-15 02:33:32 UTC
Hi,wong

I've confirmed my region settings for unicode parsing language and made a 
capture, I think thats alright.
In order to make my problem clear, I moved my setup files into my desktop 
folder and reinstalled the program.And still I captured the failure and made 
some comments in the picture.

But this time I've found another clue, which may be the real problem for my 
installation failure,that is the language pack for my setup files is "en-US" 
so it is supposed to be installed in an English-bases OS.If this point can be 
comfirmed, the problem could be switched as settled.
And there is one question left, I downloaded the file by BitTorrenting because 
it was fast, but there wasn't(and still isn't)any selection for a non-English 
downloading track of version 2.0.So I HAVE TO download the setup files by 
other methods if I am a non-English user?
Comment 12 bacon_1982 2005-10-15 02:34:50 UTC
Created attachment 30471 [details]
capture_inst_failure
Comment 13 bacon_1982 2005-10-15 02:36:15 UTC
Created attachment 30472 [details]
capture_region_settings
Comment 14 Olaf Felka 2005-10-17 09:00:32 UTC
I don't see this as a P3 issue: We have a valuable workaround. With correct
settings this won't happen. Maybe this is an OS problem.
Comment 15 Rob Weir 2013-07-30 02:19:35 UTC
Reset assignee on issues not touched by assignee in more than 2000 days.