Issue 55652

Summary: Number shouldn't trigger autoinput in Calc
Product: Calc Reporter: ivanii <ivan.icin>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: OOo 2.0Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description ivanii 2005-10-08 14:32:06 UTC
1. Put in a1 "2005." (as a title for column)
2. enter numerical data in column a for year 2005.

If you enter data normally, all your 2, 20 and 200 data will be turned into "2005."

I think that this is not some special case, but every day using of spreadsheet
program.
Comment 1 drensink 2005-10-08 21:54:13 UTC
Note that "2005." does not literally mean "2005." but means the cell input in A1
is '2005 and that autoinput can be disabled using tools - cell contents -
autoinput. This issue only applies to the behavior of autoinput when the end
user wants to keep it enabled.

Numbers stored as text should not be a criteria to enable autoinput for number
inputs. In other words, '2005 should not be a basis for enabling autoinput on 2005.




Comment 2 frank 2005-10-08 22:44:34 UTC
Hi,

this is not a bug but an enhancement request. So re-assigned to requirements.

Frank
Comment 3 ivanii 2005-10-09 10:53:11 UTC
Frank,

I would like to ask for this issue to be treated like a bug.

I would like to give counter example - if your car doesn't have side air-bags,
then it is clearly that asking for them is enhancment.

But if your car rolls-over (like Mercedes A generation 1) then it is a bug, no
matter that it is resolved by adding another electronic system, which is
enhancment by definition (and on all non-roll-over cars should be treated like
that as it is just the thing that improves stability which is already on
acceptable level).

This issue is similar like roll-over. I normally enter the title of column
first, then I enter data below. Of course, I don't look into the screen, as it
is faster like that. Eventually, after dozens of minutes of work I realize that
I have to work all over again because my software... needs enhancement or is
buggy, whatever.
Comment 4 sandreas41 2010-11-06 16:09:19 UTC
This bug is now BACK in OO 3.3 rc2.
I can not enter numbers without looking at the screen to see what it is doing to
me. 
If I turn off AutoInput, then I can no longer half enter text. 
This IS a bug.