Issue 55770

Summary: Menu system does not support multi-screen display
Product: General Reporter: astor <astor>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, kpalagin, marcelly.bernard
Version: OOO 2.0 Beta2Keywords: needmoreinfo, oooqa
Target Milestone: AOO Later   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Screenshot displaying the bug. none

Description astor 2005-10-11 12:48:21 UTC
The menu-system used by OOo will display popup menus that cross two physical
screen in a multi-screen display.  This is incorrect behaviour.

To reproduce:
1. In a two-screen multi-screen display with one screen to the left of the other
screen, maximize OOo on the left screen. Then arrange the toolbars so that you
have a toolbar menu at the very right end of your screen.   When you open the
toolbar menu, the popup menu will appear partly on your right screen instead of
on your left screen.
Comment 1 astor 2005-10-11 12:51:06 UTC
Created attachment 30310 [details]
Screenshot displaying the bug.
Comment 2 thorsten.martens 2005-10-12 14:20:34 UTC
tm->astor: Please provide more info about your hardware (graphic adaptor/card)
and the used drivers.
Comment 3 astor 2005-10-13 10:03:25 UTC
Graphics adapter: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1000
Driver version 7.7.1.8

Note that Firefox does the right thing on this hardware
Comment 4 bmarcelly 2005-10-17 19:41:26 UTC
I see the same problem with Matrox card G450 and its driver, on Win XP SP2.
Also happens with tooltips.
Problem already exists on 1.1.4.
Comment 5 mci 2005-10-31 19:34:06 UTC
Maybe this is something JW could check?
Comment 6 kpalagin 2007-05-22 22:06:10 UTC
dualmonitor
Comment 7 paul.m.nz 2007-06-25 05:03:17 UTC
I confirm that this issue occurs. Using OOo2.2.1 on winXP. 

Comment 8 thorsten.martens 2007-07-10 10:43:08 UTC
TM->JW: please have a look, seems that it still occurs, thanks !
Comment 9 sligh 2009-09-18 05:29:10 UTC
(Jon Sligh 9/17/2009)

Replicated issue in OOo 3.1 [OOO310m19 (Build 9420)] on Windows Vista SP 1.  

Configuration
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family 
Driver: 7.15.10.1624
Monitor 1: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor 2: CTX LCD Monitor PV720A

Steps to reproduce:
1.) Open Writer which opens on Monitor 1
2.) Move application to Monitor 2
3.) Select Edit -> Find & Replace..

The Find & Replace pop-up box displays on Monitor 1.

This can cause a lot of issues when working and the pop-up box cannot be found.
Comment 10 Unknown 2010-11-12 10:25:32 UTC
Created attachment 74700