Issue 56469

Summary: Means for disabling autoinput in dialogs
Product: Calc Reporter: terrynorth <terauck-opof>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: issues
Version: OOo 2.0   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description terrynorth 2005-10-23 08:06:20 UTC
I would like a mechanism for disabling the autoinput/autocomplete function in
dialogs, similar to the ability to turn off the same function in cells with
Tools/ Cell Contents/ AutoInput.  The function is particularly obstructive in
the dialogs for defining named or database ranges (respectively Insert/ Names/
Define AND Data/ Define Range).  In those cases, what are the odds that when
defining a range you will want to use an existing range name?  I have had to
find ways of working around the "feature" when inserting a new name with the
same initial but using different capitalisation.  Other dialogs where autoinput
is particularly obstructive are in the Find function in Spreadsheet, Help and
the BASIC IDE.
Comment 1 frank 2005-11-11 14:36:41 UTC
Sorry, but the one half of the world would like the behaviour as is but the
other not. The investment in time and ressources would not match the outcome. So
this should be a wontfix enhancement.

But requirements should finally decide.

Frank
Comment 2 terrynorth 2006-09-18 08:19:18 UTC
I beg to differ.  No one would want it when naming a range.  All range names are
different.

I can't imagine what would be so difficult about deleting the "feature" but
admit that I don't know.