Issue 56986

Summary: Option dialog larger than 800 pixels
Product: General Reporter: ccasteyde <casteyde.christian>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: ace_dent, andre.kuemmel, goetz.wohlberg, issues
Version: OOo 2.0Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux, all   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Screenshot of 'Options' dialog: 735x384 pixels
none
Screenshot for 2.0 (too wide)
none
Scren shot of previous version (OO 1.1.5) none

Description ccasteyde 2005-10-30 19:22:54 UTC
The option dialogs is really large and cannot be used easily in 800x600. 
This resolution is quite used in small machines and in emulators/virtual 
machines.
Comment 1 ace_dent 2006-02-03 08:51:06 UTC
Tested with OOo 2.0, WinXP.

Attached is a screen capture of the 'Options' window, with dimensions: 735x384
pixels. Although it is large for a 800x600 display, it will still be visible and
useful. It is hard to see how this dialog could be made smaller, and still fit
all these functions in.
->'ccasteyde', please provide more information on your specific difficulties /
solutions, or this Issue will be closed as works-for-me.

Regards,
Andrew
Comment 2 ace_dent 2006-02-03 09:00:01 UTC
Created attachment 33806 [details]
Screenshot of 'Options' dialog: 735x384 pixels
Comment 3 ace_dent 2006-02-07 17:16:54 UTC
Marking as worksforme.

Andrew.
Comment 4 thorsten.martens 2006-02-10 13:31:42 UTC
closed
Comment 5 ccasteyde 2006-03-19 10:42:55 UTC
It still does not work for me with OO 2.0.2, under KDE 3.5.1/Linux, whith Core 
Web fonts from MS installed. 
Appending screenshot of OO 1.1.5 and screenshot of OO 2.0.2, just to show the 
difference. This is a regression. The fonts seem to be far too big, however 
their configuration is the same for both version, as the config dialog in the 
screenshots shows... 
 
Comment 6 ccasteyde 2006-03-19 10:43:58 UTC
Created attachment 35018 [details]
Screenshot for 2.0 (too wide)
Comment 7 ccasteyde 2006-03-19 10:44:31 UTC
Created attachment 35019 [details]
Scren shot of previous version (OO 1.1.5)
Comment 8 ccasteyde 2006-03-19 10:46:27 UTC
Additionnal note: 
Maybe OO now looks at the desktop font configuration, and therefore this 
behaviour is normal, since my fonts are not changed when I change the 
resolution. 
Comment 9 ccasteyde 2006-03-19 12:49:03 UTC
I've tested a little more. OO does use the desktop font configuration, but I 
didn't find the font it uses for the dialogbox. It is not the same font as the 
one used for the menu, and even if I reduce the menu font size, the dialog box 
doesn't change its size. 
In short, I don't know how to change dialog box font size. 
Comment 10 thorsten.martens 2006-03-30 13:00:24 UTC
TM->requirements: Please have a look, thanks !
Comment 11 ace_dent 2008-05-15 12:40:15 UTC
Thanks for info > confirmed.
This may be relevant to small linux laptops, such as the eee pc, etc.
It would be useful if a mimimum screen size was defined for all dialogs.
Comment 12 Olaf Felka 2008-05-15 13:08:33 UTC
@ gw: please have a look at the system requirements. On the one hand 800 x 600
is a pretty outdated desktop resolution and all modern Notebooks can do better.
On the other hand new handhelds like EeePC are on the market.