Issue 58610

Summary: Alphabetical Index - default mode for "Combine identical entries" should depend on locale
Product: Writer Reporter: samphan
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: arthit, greenandpleasant2000-report, hin.stone, issues, jjc, markpeak, pocha
Version: OOo 2.0.1Keywords: needmoreinfo
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on:    
Issue Blocks: 41707    

Description samphan 2005-11-29 10:00:53 UTC
When creating an alphabetical index by Insert->Indexes and Table->Indexes and
Table and selelect Type = "Alphabetical Index", you have an option to "Combine
identical entries" which is (IIRC) the default. When you use "Combine identical
entries", you have further options to "Combine identical entries with p or pp"
(which is the default) or "Combine with -".

However, some languages, at least Thai, don't have the concept of p and pp. In
the locale data, p and pp must be translated but it is impossible for the locale
that never use p/pp.

To make alphabetical index for such languages, one must disable "Combine
identical entries with p or pp" and maybe enable "Combine with -". This require
some knowledge about the options and make alphabetical index not work
out-of-the-box.

I suggest that the default for these options, should be able to be specified in
the locale data. So it is possible to choose the appropriate index format for
each locale.
Comment 1 jjc 2005-11-30 04:05:22 UTC
Agreed.
Comment 2 michael.ruess 2005-12-06 16:46:38 UTC
Reassigned to ES.
Comment 3 eric.savary 2005-12-12 00:04:36 UTC
If I understand your description, we have an "ennoying" option for Thai users
because:
1) p/pp does not exist in Thai.
2) it is a default.

My questions:
1) did I really understand your report? :)
2) what is the most important: removing the p/pp option if the language is set
to Thai OR set the default to something else?
3) Can you give us a list of other languages which don't know this feature?

Thank you!
Comment 4 samphan 2005-12-12 03:00:20 UTC
1) did I really understand your report? :)

Yes.

2) what is the most important: removing the p/pp option if the language is set
to Thai OR set the default to something else?

For Thai, it should default to "Combine with -".
This may depend on locale so it should be specified in locale data XML.

3) Can you give us a list of other languages which don't know this feature?

I dont't know but I guess only Western languages would use p./pp.
I don't think East Asian or CTL languages use the system.
Comment 5 jjc 2005-12-15 14:26:32 UTC
I would suggest the default should be to "combine with -" for English as well
(and probably for all languages).  Note that for English (and many other
languages) the current behaviour of OOo in the "p./pp." case is wrong, because
the right string to use is "f."/"ff." not "p"/"pp.". See issue #59398.

I've looked in a lot of English-language books, and I haven't found a single one
that uses "f."/"ff." in indices (although it's occasionally used in running
text).  Manuals of style uniformly recommend using the "combine with -" style in
indices.  The "p./pp." style is, in my view, a leftover from the days when
indices were done by hand and computing the exact page ranges required extra labour.
Comment 6 eric.savary 2006-01-10 10:12:04 UTC
Reassigned
Comment 7 ace_dent 2008-05-15 15:13:35 UTC
This Issue requires more information ('needmoreinfo'), but has not been updated
within the last year. Please re-test with one of the latest versions of OOo -
the problem(s) may have already been addressed. Either use the recent stable
version: http://download.openoffice.org/index.html
or consider trying the new OOo 3 BETA (still in testing):
http://download.openoffice.org/3.0beta/
 
Please report back the outcome so this Issue may be closed or progressed as
necessary - otherwise it may be Resolved as Invalid in the future. You may also
wish to search for (and note) any duplicates of this Issue that may have
advanced further :
http://www.openoffice.org/issues/query.cgi
 
Many thanks,
Andrew
 
Cleaning-up and Closing old Issues as part of:
~ The Grand Bug Squash, pre v3 ~
Comment 8 samphan 2008-05-16 07:01:47 UTC
Confirm that this is still an issue in OOo 2.4 and 3.0 beta.
Comment 9 samphan 2008-05-16 07:13:35 UTC
Confirm that this is still an issue in OOo 2.4 and 3.0 beta.
Comment 10 R Green 2017-06-25 10:12:39 UTC
I second comment 5. And see issue #59398