Issue 62013

Summary: offer range selection in series properties dialog
Product: General Reporter: joeconner <joeconner>
Component: chartAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: IngridvdM, issues, lars_o_hansen, robin.laing, tony.galmiche.ooo
Version: 3.3.0 or older (OOo)Keywords: oooqa, usability
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: FEATURE Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
DATA SERIES WINDOW none

Description joeconner 2006-02-13 23:38:11 UTC
I request that when you have the properties window open for a line in a chart
that an option to modify the data series that creates the line be available. 
Sometimes I would just like to identify the data series that is the source data
for the line generation.  I will attach a writer document with the window open
(titled DATA SERIES incidentally) which identifies what I am talking about.

Currently the only way to identify or modify the data source is the context menu
for the first click focus on the whole chart.
Comment 1 joeconner 2006-02-13 23:39:55 UTC
Created attachment 34128 [details]
DATA SERIES WINDOW
Comment 2 frank 2006-02-14 08:24:28 UTC
wrong component, changed to chart
Comment 3 lars 2006-02-14 15:23:09 UTC
according to http://qa.openoffice.org/issue_handling/workflowcharts/
RFE_issues_by_QA.sxd I reassign this issue to requirements and set the status 
to New
Comment 4 IngridvdM 2006-03-08 16:50:38 UTC
Hi Joe,
is it necessary for you to change the datarange in the Properties Dialog of the
Series or would it be sufficient if there is an extra dialog within the chart to
do all the range accosiation for all series. This is what the current chart
reimplementation does. You might want to look at the specification 'Flexible
Source Ranges' at: http://specs.openoffice.org/chart/index.html. You also can
try the current behaviour in the latest developer snapshot available for
download at the chart website:
http://graphics.openoffice.org/chart/chart.html.
- Regards Ingrid
Comment 5 joeconner 2006-03-09 18:26:30 UTC
Each line on the chart is determined by a series of cells.  Change the values in
the cells and the line adjusts accordingly.  Therefore, that series of cells is
a property of the line.  

I am asking for ALL of the properties of the line to be available for inspection
when a line's “object properties†is selected from the context menu, not just a
subset of them.   It would be BETTER if adjustments to the series of cells could
be adjusted as well.  The best ever ability to do this that I am familiar with,
was the old DOS Quattro Pro v3 (not the windows version) where when you went to
the source cells, they were marked with a boundary line showing what cells were
applicable.  You could extend or retract the cell boundary with the keyboard
arrow keys.  Using the period key allowed the cell focus to bounce clockwise
around the corners so the flexibility to extend the boundary up, left right, or
down was available at any corner.  Very useful!
Comment 6 mestech 2006-07-21 19:03:23 UTC
Hi, Joe,

I am in agreement with you on the need to change the ability to edit the chart
properties easier.  I have created issue 67518 that I feel is related to this
issue.  Like you I reference QP but Version 8.

I have tried the proposed changes to the chart UI (Ver 2.6) and I find it
missing.  I never thought of the menu to see/change the series when clicking on
the line.  In my present job, this would be a great time saver.

I could look at my raw data, click on the line and change the series starting
point to where I want the series to actually start and end.  Of course, I would
have to know where in the series the mouse pointer was pointing at.

I would want to see the ability to change the series.

Comment 7 mestech 2006-08-16 21:55:08 UTC
I am trying Milestone 7 and this feature has not appeared.

An additional tab with the data series range would be wonderful.

Reason.  In my work, there are times when bringing various pieces of data
together and I need to align the data to a single start point.  This start point
isn't the same number of cells down in from the beginning of the list.  I can
visualize this point but I now have to go through a process of figuring out what
series and then opening the data ranges diolog (Milestone 7).  It would be nice
to be able to click on the line and open it's properties instead of having to
translate the color, to legend, to cell range in my head.

lha, I feel that the ability to change the range would make the properties tool
that much better.  Give me the tools to make my job easier and faster by making
the various dialogs much more powerful.
Comment 8 IngridvdM 2006-11-16 21:09:02 UTC
accepted
Comment 9 IngridvdM 2006-11-16 21:11:01 UTC
I'll take care of this.
Comment 10 mestech 2007-05-17 16:58:49 UTC
To add to this.

I am just trying Milestone 11 and if you select a series and then right click,
you can then modify the data range and data series.  It isn't perfect but it is
possible and quite easy to use.  I would still prefer the QP way of doing it but
this is nice.

I cannot wait for the new chart to become part of OOo.  I can see myself using
Milestone 11 more.
Comment 11 IngridvdM 2008-07-22 14:21:40 UTC
reset to new
Comment 12 joeconner 2009-01-18 04:42:57 UTC
I just checked DEV300m37 (Build:9371).
It appears this has not yet been added.
Too bad, it will be a very useful feature.
Comment 13 joeconner 2009-01-18 04:44:45 UTC
I just checked DEV300m37 (Build:9371).
It appears this has not yet been added.
Too bad, it will be a very useful feature.