Issue 62782

Summary: Add function to add directly a complete new row to at table with 1 column all cells merged vertically
Product: Writer Reporter: raindrops <na1000>
Component: editingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, rainerbielefeld_ooo_qa
Version: OOo 2.0.2Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on: 58492    
Issue Blocks:    
Attachments:
Description Flags
how to add row
none
workaround none

Description raindrops 2006-03-05 05:38:04 UTC
1. Insert a table (say 4x4)
2. Merge all cells vertically in the first column (A1-A4)
3. Now if you insert a new row AFTER the last row, its first cell is
automatically merged with the A1-A4 merged cell. All the three mechanisms for
inserting a new row have the same result.

You cannot insert a new independent row, where the A5 cell is not merged.

Desired: There must be a mode where it is possible to insert a row.
Comment 1 raindrops 2006-03-05 05:43:14 UTC
P.S. There is no easy way out (as in MS Word), because Writer lacks several
user-friendly features of MS Word:

1. You cannot draw a partition in a table to split it wherever you want. (Writer
does not have the "pencil" and "eraser" free-edit tools for tables)

2. Suppose you want to split the first column temporarlity. But Writer does not
automatically sense the number of cells in the adjoining column (as MS Word
does). As a result, your split will not create cells that match the adjoining
column's rows.
Comment 2 Rainer Bielefeld 2006-03-05 14:46:26 UTC
I checked with "2.0.1 RC5 German version WIN XP: [680m1(Build8990)]":

It's not impossible, but really not easy to add a comlete new line.

1. open attached 'testyourself1.odt'
2. move Cursor directly after table
3. click symbol "Table", mark an area with 4 columns, 2 rows
4. insert table
5. click into first cell of new table 
6. Click Menu "Table - Merge Table" 

This would be possible  more intuitive and userfriendly with a solution for
issue 58492
Comment 3 Rainer Bielefeld 2006-03-05 15:10:36 UTC
Created attachment 34589 [details]
how to add row
Comment 4 Rainer Bielefeld 2006-03-05 15:15:48 UTC
corrected typo in summary
Comment 5 raindrops 2006-03-05 16:14:51 UTC
Ah! But even there, Writer has yet another bug that blocks this workaround: The
columns of the merged tables do not unify! (see  Issue 60295)

Comment 6 Rainer Bielefeld 2006-03-05 18:15:36 UTC
@raindrops :
you are right, bedause of  issue 60295 that will only work correctly if both
tables have exactly the same columnd widths. To get a "complete" merge, you have
to merge the existing table with a copy of itself. Afterwards you can separate
cells, merge cells, delete lines until you have the desired result with one more
row with 4 cells. Pls see result in 'mergewithcopy2.odt'.

It works, but of cours, that's not userfriendly.
Comment 7 Rainer Bielefeld 2006-03-05 18:38:30 UTC
Created attachment 34592 [details]
workaround
Comment 8 michael.ruess 2006-03-06 09:29:38 UTC
Reassigned to requirements.
It should be quite useful to have a possibility to add a row without being stuck
to the complex-table layout as described.