Issue 6493

Summary: Allow autocorrect settings to vary between apps
Product: General Reporter: ingenstans
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: ACCEPTED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, terrywatt
Version: OOo 1.0.0Keywords: rfe_eval_ok
Target Milestone: AOO Later   
Hardware: Other   
OS: Other OS   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description ingenstans 2002-07-20 16:08:28 UTC
At the moment, autocorrect preferences seem to apply globally across all the various modules of 
OOo. They certainly do between writer and calc. I would like there to be a possibility to have 
different settings depending on where I am working. This especially matters with 
capitalisation: there may be very good reasons to want words capitalised at the beginning of 
sentences in the word processor, but to allow all lower case entries in a spreadsheet. At the 
moment this can't be done. And it would be helpful.

I think this is a framework issue. Someone 
correct me if I am wrong.
Comment 1 thorsten.martens 2002-07-31 10:04:50 UTC
TM->FT: Another wish for an enhancement ! Please have a look, thanks !
Comment 2 ingenstans 2003-05-21 09:18:48 UTC
*** Issue 969 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 3 falko.tesch 2003-10-08 12:43:09 UTC
Allow autocorrect settings to vary between applications.
Comment 4 falko.tesch 2003-10-08 12:43:22 UTC
.
Comment 5 brianblandford 2004-05-27 10:44:46 UTC
Very much desired. See similar issues 20008, 21735, 23612
Comment 6 tweedledee 2009-05-23 15:13:03 UTC
As mentioned years ago, there are several requests for this.  I would really
like to use Autocomplete in Writer but not in Calc.  For examples, the single
quote correction is nice in writer, but a pain in Calc, where I routinely use
single quotes to mean "don't change my text" - but have to use "undo" after
every single quote to prevent that change!  Similarly with typing fractions
(e.g., 1/2 to mean 0.5 or a date is rendered as the half-fraction symbol) in
Calc is, frankly, absurd, whereas it IS desirable in Writer and Impress.  I
don't understand why this request has been ignored for nearly 7 years.  Is there
some fundamental reason that autocorrect must be linked across all programs? 
Apparently not, because the Autocomplete component is separate in each.  Can
anything be done about this?
Comment 7 bettina.haberer 2010-05-21 15:04:40 UTC
To grep the issues easier via "requirements" I put the issues currently lying on
my owner to the owner "requirements".