Issue 65079

Summary: cannot find lookup function
Product: Base Reporter: stuurman3 <stuurman>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P5 (lowest) CC: issues, kamataki
Version: OOo 2.0.2   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description stuurman3 2006-05-04 13:35:38 UTC
As in MS Access, for inputting data in  Base I would like to lookup values in 
a field, which may be stored in another table. I cannot find this function in 
Base nor in the Help. Is this missing? or is it hidden somewhere?

Ex. In a Contacts table I have a field called ContactsType. This field should 
only be Competititor, Customer, or Informant.
Comment 1 ibarnard 2006-05-04 14:00:28 UTC
You're right about this. Although OOo Base gives similar functionality, it's
only available in a form, where you create a drop down list which reads its
items from a table or query - does exactly what Access does but not automatic.
It would be nice if you could also set the table to have a lookup setting for
any aprticular field, which would then be automatically created as a combo-box
whenever you place this field on a form - similar to Access where you don't need
to specify the lookup values, table or qruery every time you place the
particular field.
Comment 2 marc.neumann 2006-05-04 14:30:23 UTC
Hi,

I reassign this enhancement to the User Experience team for evaluating.

Bye Marc
Comment 3 ultrarunner10 2007-12-02 20:44:59 UTC
I too would like very much to have the lookup feature added to the tables. It is
a very useful feature of Microsoft Access and I would greatly enjoy using it in OOo.

Thanks!