Issue 6540

Summary: Freely move, position and anchor table(s) like Frame objects
Product: Writer Reporter: lars <lars_o_hansen>
Component: formattingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P3 CC: emmanuel, issues, rainerbielefeld_ooo_qa, samjennings, yanivmailbox
Version: OOo 1.0.0Keywords: rfe_eval_ok, usability
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description lars 2002-07-24 10:31:47 UTC
like in Adobe Acrobat Reader.

a hand appears and one can move the table by mouse, so that one doesn't have to 
sequentially use the horizontal and vertical scrollbar.

an action combination for doing so could be ALT+left mouse button.

Alternatively there could be a small overview window accessible (whose state is 
saved application dependant (that is a user finds this window always in the 
state he left it; + "auto roll-up/roll-down" might be nice)) where one moves 
the displayed part of the table, like "Overview Window" in Paintshop Pro 7.
Comment 1 peter.junge 2002-07-24 10:55:15 UTC
Hi Falko,
1 4 U.
Peter

Peter->Lars: I think enhancements should be flagged for ALL platform/OS.
BTW: I think you can configure most mouse drivers to support such actions.
Comment 2 peter.junge 2002-07-24 10:57:46 UTC
Hi Falko,
1 4 U.
Peter

Peter->Lars: I think enhancements should be flagged for ALL platform/OS.
BTW: I think you can configure most mouse drivers to support such actions.
Comment 3 falko.tesch 2003-10-09 12:31:26 UTC
A table in Writer should behave like any other object if it comes to
anchoring and positioning.
The user should be able to grab the table and resize and move it
freely in the document.
It should also be possible to anchor the table to page, paragraph,
character and as character.
Comment 4 falko.tesch 2003-10-09 12:31:42 UTC
.
Comment 5 Unknown 2004-06-28 17:12:59 UTC
This enhancement is very much needed, add to cc
Comment 6 sgautier.ooo 2004-09-07 17:26:30 UTC
reassigning & adding keywords according to new RFE process - Sophie
Comment 7 lohmaier 2004-12-24 23:25:48 UTC
*** Issue 33813 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 8 lohmaier 2004-12-24 23:27:56 UTC
*** Issue 27488 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 9 michael.ruess 2005-02-08 08:20:11 UTC
*** Issue 42181 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 10 raindrops 2005-11-29 13:46:51 UTC
Add to that-

There should be a provision to let the user SELECT a table. Currently if the
user selects an entire table, only the text inside it is selected; and not the
structure of the table. So, if he moves the table, a new table is created at the
destination spot, but the old structure remains behind. 
Comment 11 lohmaier 2006-01-23 01:12:01 UTC
*** Issue 60844 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 12 michael.ruess 2008-06-02 08:35:29 UTC
*** Issue 90139 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 13 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-09 16:09:02 UTC
The simple workaround is to put the table into a Frame.

I wonder what ODF specifications tell here concerning table design.
Comment 14 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-09 16:15:36 UTC
*** Issue 86553 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 15 Rainer Bielefeld 2014-02-09 16:17:23 UTC
*** Issue 124209 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***