Issue 68741

Summary: Calc - "Define database range" dialog is blocking interface in other Calc windows
Product: Calc Reporter: kpalagin <kpalagin>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: 680m180   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows, all   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description kpalagin 2006-08-18 07:37:05 UTC
Opening "Define database range" dialog is blocking interaction in other Calc 
windows.
Reproduction steps
1. Open two Calc instances.
2. In one of them click Data, Define Range.
3. Switch to another Calc instance and r-click any cell. Note that context menu 
is not appearing. 
4. Try typing something, note how Formular toolbar changes in responce, but no 
text is appearing.
This is confusing to the user and can cause him/her into thinking that Calc has 
hung, requiring to end process via Task Manager, possibly loosing data.
Comment 1 kpalagin 2006-11-23 06:57:18 UTC
Confirming with 680m3 build 9090 on Win XP.
Comment 2 frank 2006-12-11 10:26:19 UTC
Not a defect as it works as designed. It works this way as the dialog is bound
to the document/sheet there it is opened. This is to avoid confusion about there
a dialog should be used on.

Changed to enhancement and re-assigned to requirements.

Frank