Issue 71921

Summary: Delete Rows/Delete Columns should remember the content
Product: Calc Reporter: kendy
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: frank.loehmann, issues, kendy, kyoshida, lutz.hoeger, matthias.mueller-prove, niklas.nebel, rail_ooo
Version: 680m193   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: PATCH Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
The patch.
none
This version addresses the multiple selections case - shows a warning that he content was not copied to the clipboard. none

Description kendy 2006-11-24 09:40:31 UTC
In some cases it is useful to move columns/rows around in the spreadsheet; 
unfortunately this is not easy with OOo.  Excel has 'Insert Cut Cells', but the 
cut/paste behaves differently in OOo, so that is unusable.

Instead, it is enough to copy the content of the to-be-deleted rows/columns to 
clipboard; then you can just paste it to the needed location.

I'll attach a patch - please approve :-)
Comment 1 kendy 2006-11-24 09:40:57 UTC
Target - 2.2.
Comment 2 kendy 2006-11-24 09:48:54 UTC
Created attachment 40890 [details]
The patch.
Comment 3 niklas.nebel 2006-11-24 10:08:14 UTC
I'm not sure if this is a good idea. Clipboard content should be modified by
clipboard functions, nothing else.
Comment 4 kendy 2006-11-24 10:18:06 UTC
So - let's make Delete Rows/Delete Columns clipboard functions ;-)

Seriously - the Excel functionality (Insert Cut Cells) is somewhere in between 
as well, and they do not list it among the clipboard functions either.  Of 
course - ideally we should rename "Delete Rows" to "Delete Rows and Copy 
Content" but that's not too practical...
Comment 5 kendy 2006-11-24 10:20:06 UTC
Another idea, what about to rename it to 'Cut Rows' and 'Cut Columns'? - this 
reminds the clipboard functions much better.
Comment 6 niklas.nebel 2006-11-24 10:39:07 UTC
Matthias, what do you think of this: Rename "Delete Rows" to "Cut rows" and make
it copy the rows to the clipboard before deleting them? Same for columns.
Comment 7 niklas.nebel 2006-11-24 10:42:54 UTC
Oh, and we have to think of something for the case that multiple non-adjacent
rows are selected (or wait until we can copy such a selection to the clipboard).
Comment 8 kendy 2006-11-24 14:10:48 UTC
Created attachment 40898 [details]
This version addresses the multiple selections case - shows a warning that he content was not copied to the clipboard.
Comment 9 kendy 2006-11-24 14:11:58 UTC
mmp: What do you think, please?
Comment 10 matthias.mueller-prove 2007-01-02 11:35:28 UTC
change target to OOo 2.3.

Hi gang,
I am not quite sure I understand all aspects of the proposed solution. Let me
try to capture the status quo:

Competitive Analysis:
MS Excel offers ways to copy or move a cell selection (CS) to a different
location on the sheet using clipboard commands COPY or CUT and PASTE.
Furthermore it is possible to free some cell space for CS by shifting the
current content of the target row or column right or down.
OOo 2.1 just offers CUT/COPY and PASTE to copy or move CS on a sheet. It is not
possible to shift the content of the cells where CS is pasted.

Content of Patch:
??

Kendy, can you please continue to describe the patch based on my decscription of
MS Excel and OOo 2.1? Much appreciated, Matthias
Comment 11 kendy 2007-01-03 15:49:49 UTC
mmp: Sorry, I should have been more verbose ;-)

What is my concern with this issue is Excel's 'Insert Cut Cells' functionality.  
In Excel, if you choose 'Cut', nothing is removed until you choose 'Paste' or 
'Insert Cut Cells'.  'Insert Cut Cells' is very handy when you want to take 
part of the table and move it to another location.

OOo as it is now has no way to move part of the table simply at the moment.  
You have to:

- Select the rows
- 'Cut'
- 'Delete Rows'
- 'Insert Rows' on the final position (you have to remember how many rows)
- 'Paste'

Excel allows you:

- Select the rows
- 'Cut'
- 'Insert Cut Cells' on the final position

This patch improves the situation by remembering the content of the cells when 
you do 'Delete rows' - this way you can shrink the scenario to:

- Select the rows
- 'Delete Rows' (it remembers the content)
- 'Insert Rows' on the final position (you have to remember how many rows)
- 'Paste'

Of course the ideal solution would be to change the current 'Delete rows' to 
'Cut rows' (it would copy the content to the clipboard and delete the rows), 
and add a new 'Insert rows & Paste' that would insert exactly the right number 
of rows to paste the content.  This way the OOo scenario would shrink to

- Select the rows
- 'Cut Rows' (it remembers the content)
- 'Insert Rows & Paste' on the final position (inserts the right number of 
rows)

The question is what to do when eg. rows 3,4,7,9 are selected.  In my patch it 
issues a warning that the content was not copied to the clipboard.

[NB. I'm talking about rows, but similarly it works for columns ;-) ]

Would it be OK this way, please?
Comment 12 kendy 2007-01-03 15:51:10 UTC
Reassigned to mmp for feedback.
Comment 13 matthias.mueller-prove 2007-01-11 12:58:25 UTC
I'll have a look...
Please nudge me if am am dragged away for other projects.
Comment 14 niklas.nebel 2007-05-24 13:00:47 UTC
Note: We're also looking for other suggestions about more direct way to move
columns/rows (see http://sc.openoffice.org/servlets/ReadMsg?list=dev&msgNo=2115).
Comment 15 rail_ooo 2007-06-09 12:38:57 UTC
kendy: I sugges to remove these warnings: 
pTabViewShell->ErrorMessage( STR_DELETE_DID_NOT_COPY );

They are very annoying if you in non-interactive mode, e.g. running Basic macro
which uses .uno:DeleteRows.
Comment 16 kendy 2007-06-11 08:49:28 UTC
rail: Right, removed that in ooo-build.
Comment 17 lutz.hoeger 2007-06-20 09:53:13 UTC
We need two new menu commands: 'cut & delete row(s)' and 'insert row(s) &paste'.
Try for 2.3 with DEV.
Comment 18 matthias.mueller-prove 2007-07-04 17:30:57 UTC
we'll consider the change for OOo 2.4.
Comment 19 matthias.mueller-prove 2007-09-07 12:21:11 UTC
thanks for taking over, Frank
Comment 20 frank.loehmann 2007-11-08 09:28:29 UTC
No resources for OOo 2.4 -> retargeted to OOo 3.0.
Comment 21 frank.loehmann 2008-06-03 16:57:44 UTC
Sorry to say: New try for 3.1.
Comment 22 frank.loehmann 2009-03-09 10:13:41 UTC
New target.
Comment 23 thorsten.ziehm 2009-09-10 11:44:19 UTC
Branch-date (feature- and code-freeze) for OOo 3.2 is nearly done. Therefore I
change the target of this issue to OOo 3.x. If you think it is a stopper for OOo
3.2 please change the target back.
Comment 24 Rob Weir 2013-03-11 15:01:07 UTC
I'm adding this comment to all open issues with Issue Type == PATCH.  We have 220 such issues, many of them quite old.  I apologize for that.  

We need your help in prioritizing which patches should be integrated into our next release, Apache OpenOffice 4.0.

If you have submitted a patch and think it is applicable for AOO 4.0, please respond with a comment to let us know.

On the other hand, if the patch is no longer relevant, please let us know that as well.

If you have any general questions or want to discuss this further, please send a note to our dev mailing list:  dev@openoffice.apache.org

Thanks!

-Rob