Issue 7373

Summary: Colorpicker resizing ; but for increasing "viewable area" (also colorpicker redesign)
Product: General Reporter: lars <lars_o_hansen>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: ACCEPTED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: ace_dent, hashproduct, issues, kpalagin, mantas, Mathias_Bauer, webmaster
Version: OOo 1.0.0Keywords: oooqa, rfe_eval_ok
Target Milestone: AOO Later   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on:    
Issue Blocks: 105642    

Description lars 2002-08-31 00:37:29 UTC
currently only the size of the color fileds change, not the number of color 
fields
Comment 1 thorsten.martens 2002-09-12 13:30:43 UTC
TM->FT: This one is a wish for an enhancement, so please have a
look,...thanks !
Comment 2 falko.tesch 2003-09-12 12:04:31 UTC
Yes. I do whole-haertly agree. We must re-work this dialogue.
Comment 3 falko.tesch 2003-09-12 12:04:50 UTC
Yes. I do whole-haertly agree. We must re-work this dialogue.
Comment 4 falko.tesch 2003-09-12 12:05:25 UTC
started
Comment 5 jausions 2004-02-19 16:17:45 UTC
Resizing the color picker window too small makes it impossible to view colors.
Solution: 
   - Have a minimum size for color "squares" (could be based on screen resolution); 
   - Reduce the border size between colors to give more space to colors in small
windows; 
   - Wrap the color "squares" instead of streching them in critical conditions
(when minimum size of color square is reached...);

Typically, if you want to keep the color picker open but out of the way of the
main document, a user may want to place/stick the picker at the top of the
window in a "horizontal" shaped window. To make it fit in the menu bars, the
window has to be resized to a very tight space. With the current resizing
algorithm, the colors cannot be picked anymore...
Comment 6 rblackeagle 2004-02-19 20:27:11 UTC
I know what he means and find it a bit irritating myself, but I'm not at all
sure about the suggested solutions.  This one might take quite a bit of
experimenting to resolve the issue.  I like to add colors (one of my favorite is
one I call "tiger" -- matches the colors of the orange on a tiger).  Adding such
colors might further complicate any suggested solution.
Comment 7 bettina.haberer 2004-04-08 20:45:34 UTC
no chance to get this into the Q, as this is no keyfeature for Q.
Comment 8 mci 2004-04-28 09:11:29 UTC
*** Issue 28426 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 9 mci 2004-04-28 09:16:24 UTC
*** Issue 28427 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 10 mci 2004-04-28 09:18:31 UTC
Hi,

issue 28426 ist NOT duplicate to this issue...
sorry, I just worked on the wrong issue
Comment 11 lars 2006-01-31 20:43:51 UTC
*** Issue 61451 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 12 lars 2006-03-05 17:58:23 UTC
*** Issue 62783 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 13 lars 2006-03-05 18:01:26 UTC
suggestions so far (also from other issues): rgb spectrum color selector; 
"other" entry in color picker which calls an add color dialogue
Comment 14 mantas 2006-03-05 18:16:33 UTC
if issue #62783 is duplicate of this issue, then maybe we should change subject
of this issue ? Now the subject is not understandable by most people, even by
developers like I - 'colorpicker resizing ; but for increasing "viewable area"'

I'm suggesting to rename subject of this issue to
"Color selector improvements: free color selection, resizing improvements,etc"

If you don't change the subject of this bug to more user-friendly, then users
will waste the time and report dublicates (because default issue search on
"color selection" doesn't find this bug) :(
Comment 15 lars 2006-03-05 18:43:30 UTC
I leave it up to the developer to change the summary as the status has already 
been set to Started
Comment 16 lars 2006-03-17 16:34:47 UTC
*** Issue 31884 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 17 webmaster 2006-03-17 22:12:48 UTC
I have been supporting Bug #31884 for some time, and it has now been marked a
duplicate of this bug.

Just to ensure that this enhancement covers my request, here is what I have been
seeking (which is v. similar to most others on this page):
It is *difficult* to add new colours, esp. if you only want to use a colour once
- instead of a simple dialogue like that opening from a button saying "New
Colour" at the bottom of the drop down colour menus, or something like that, you
have to go into Options -> Tools -> Colour -> Edit -> Save as a name -> Apply
colour.

It should be: Drop down colour menu (such as font color) -> New colour -> Apply
(no need to specify a name), and then it should record the last 10 or so colours
you have used (as well as standard palette).
Comment 18 webmaster 2006-11-27 22:11:58 UTC
Anything happening here? This is one of the bugs which I think would not be too
hard to solve, and would have a marked improvement on productivity.

Kind Regards,
Matthew
Comment 19 hashproduct 2007-01-10 22:58:44 UTC
I agree with everything Matthew/computerdork has said.  I would like to be able
to input arbitrary colors when formatting text or drawing objects, just as I can
in Microsoft Office.  Lars, if bug 31884 is a "duplicate" of this one, shouldn't
the summary of this bug encompass bug 31884?

- Matt McCutchen
Comment 20 lars 2007-01-11 18:54:21 UTC
it's unwise to change the summary of an issue a developer has already set to 
started because he then might not find the issue anymore looking for the old 
summary; therefore I won't change the summary. The summary doesn't reflect the 
issues theme anymore but this theme encompasses issue 31884. The dialogue 
should be redesigned and suggestions for the new design are collected here.
Comment 21 kpalagin 2007-06-16 21:47:13 UTC
Dear developers,
what is the current status of this issue?
Comment 22 kpalagin 2007-06-16 21:51:04 UTC
*** Issue 31598 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 23 webmaster 2007-07-28 01:16:04 UTC
Hello? This issue irritates me more and more... OpenOffice.org is the ONLY
office suite I know the requires PRE-color selection... Which is intolerable in
a modern world of computing!

Is this coming along at all?
Comment 24 webmaster 2007-07-28 01:20:45 UTC
Well... It was "started" more than 3 years ago... so.....
Comment 25 webmaster 2008-03-06 07:42:59 UTC
Any progress?
Comment 26 kozaki 2009-05-07 11:23:09 UTC
Oooh yes please improve the color picker, somewhere within the next 7 years if
that's possible (Fri Aug 30 2002 >> now >> Tue Aug 30 2016) ;-]

Non aligned colors + very limited default colors + no hexa value + no memory
somehow is a real pain in the hum! workflow.

Also, as mantas quoted (and I have read author answer):
> I'm suggesting to rename subject of this issue to
> "Color selector improvements: free color selection, resizing improvements,etc"
Comment 27 kareeser 2009-05-07 13:41:04 UTC
There's a colour picker available in "Tools -> Options -> Colors", and you can
add a custom colour of your choice.

Has to be done separately from picking colours for table backgrounds and the
like, though.

But the capability is there :)
Comment 28 ace_dent 2009-10-06 11:00:27 UTC
Hi

I think that the developer agreed to address issues with the color picker
sizing... but possibly not a complete redesign. It seems 'lars' started to add 
other issues later. I have updated the summary anyway to provide easier
searching. Additionally the issue is quite stale with no movement.

There is an overlapping issue:
Issue 47151 - Free RGB Color Selection without adding to color table

However, we probably need a separate meta-issue for the color picker redesign
that collates all these closely linked design problems/ enhancements. I searched
but failed to find one... Should this become the meta-issue?

Cheers
Andrew
Comment 29 ace_dent 2009-10-06 11:22:45 UTC
To manage the many suggestions for enhancing the color palette, I have created a
meta-issue here:
Issue 105642 - Re-design and UI improvements for color palettes (meta-issue)

The purpose of the new issue is for management only, it does not duplicate
specific design requests (that we wish to capture).

Many thanks,
Andrew
Comment 30 Samuel Mehrbrodt 2009-11-25 13:43:37 UTC
Will there anything happen? That's really a big lack and should be solved as
fast as possible.
Comment 31 bettina.haberer 2010-05-21 14:55:52 UTC
To grep the issues easier via "requirements" I put the issues currently lying on
my owner to the owner "requirements". 
Comment 32 irneb 2010-06-21 10:46:07 UTC
Definitely also think this is a must. At least give a way of opening the
customize colors other than just through the Options dialog. It should
preferably be something like a "More..." option in the drop-down (similar to
what users expect from other programs).

The other ideas are also quite nice (e.g. color picker as eye-drop cursor for
choosing a colour from the screen). As for different methods of defining
colours, the current (OOo 3.2.1) only provides RGB / CMYK in the options dialog.
And then of course (as per issue 18674) the CMYK is more of a joke than
something useful.

And for a "layman" user to choose a colour using only RGB/CMYK is just silly!
That's the way extremely experienced painters would mix their paints to produce
a specific colour. Most people understand colour in the shape of HSL: i.e. The
Hue (Red / Orange / Yellow / Green / Blue / Purple / Magenta) which is the
direction on a colour wheel, then the Saturation (how washed out or rich it
appears), and then the Luminance (brightness / darkness). Fortunately converting
from HSL to-and-from RGB is a lot simpler than the noted CMYK problem, and it
produces a lot more consistent results. So I can't see why this shouldn't at
least be available as one of the colour creation methods.