Issue 79116

Summary: PCT images pasted into OOo appear as black picture
Product: Impress Reporter: tino.rachui
Component: open-importAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: hdu, issues, lazenguy, rbircher, tag, wolframgarten
Version: 680m217   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: Mac   
OS: Mac OS X, all   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Issue Depends on:    
Issue Blocks: 79113    
Attachments:
Description Flags
PCT data stream on the clipboard
none
Original picture
none
Screenshot OOo none

Description tino.rachui 2007-07-02 20:37:07 UTC
Images copied to the clipboard from standard Mac OS X applications like iPhoto for instance appear 
completely black within OOo (though the dimension of the picture looks correct). Attached are same 
screenshots, the original picture as well as the content of the PCT data stream received via clipboard.
Comment 1 tino.rachui 2007-07-02 20:38:12 UTC
Need to be fixed before #i79113
Comment 2 tino.rachui 2007-07-02 20:43:29 UTC
Created attachment 46451 [details]
PCT data stream on the clipboard
Comment 3 tino.rachui 2007-07-02 20:44:31 UTC
Created attachment 46452 [details]
Original picture
Comment 4 tino.rachui 2007-07-02 20:45:21 UTC
Created attachment 46453 [details]
Screenshot OOo
Comment 5 sven.jacobi 2007-07-05 10:20:23 UTC
The attachment is a pict graphic containing an embedded tiff, this can't be
rendered by our current pict filter. A solution is to convert the pict into a
bitmap before inserting, this can be done by using QuickTime.

So it has to be determined whether a pict is containing an embedded graphic, but
because of missing file format specification it is not trivial. After some
investigation I found out that at least every pict that has a embedded graphic
is containing the word "QuickTime" then.

So my suggestion is to check whether a pict is containing the word "QuickTime",
then of course we should convert the graphic into a bitmap otherwise we should
further use the pict format.
Comment 6 Raphael Bircher 2010-02-08 19:35:02 UTC
Issue still exist at the OOo Aquatic version. only the Result is not the same.
At the 3.x Version OOo makes a short time out, and paste nothing.

rbircher -> of, copy, paste is more a framework issue as a grafic issue, please
have a look on it
Comment 7 gantim 2010-02-08 19:41:43 UTC
Easier tests: Open any graphics in Preview, Select all, Copy. Try to paste in
OOo. Or do Command-Control-Shift-4 to do a screenshot to clipboard (select
rectangle or press space to select window). Then try to paste in OOo (doesn't
work) versus TextEdit (there it works in Formatted Text format only of course).
Comment 8 Olaf Felka 2010-02-08 20:50:30 UTC
@ wg: Please have a try.
Comment 9 wolframgarten 2010-02-09 08:10:51 UTC
sj already had thoughts about to solve the problem. Reassigned.
Comment 10 hdu@apache.org 2010-02-09 14:04:23 UTC
@sj: I suggest to do avoid parsing the raw data manually. If you need it as bitmap do an [NSImage 
initWithPasteboard] or [NSImage initWithData] and draw it onto a bitmap context.
Comment 11 itoas 2010-05-20 15:57:49 UTC
Seems a duplicate of #25794
http://qa.openoffice.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=25794
Comment 12 lazenguy 2013-08-19 23:21:44 UTC
This confirmed bug has caused me to switch back to AOO 3.4.1, and I do not see a date for the fix in the AOO 4.0.1 work list. This item should be an absolute priority as it only fixes functionality available in the prior release (3.4.1).