Issue 84293

Summary: Tools->Options->OOo writer->view->Ruler logical problem
Product: Writer Reporter: redflagzhulihua <ooo.redflag>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P4 CC: issues, peter.junge
Version: OOo 2.3.1 RC1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description redflagzhulihua 2007-12-06 03:45:27 UTC
Tools->Options->OOo writer->view->Ruler

if Horizontal ruler and Vertical ruler are all unchecked, the Ruler checkbox 
should be unchecked automatically.
Comment 1 michael.ruess 2007-12-06 10:34:32 UTC
Reassigned to SBA.
Comment 2 redflagzhulihua 2007-12-06 12:00:50 UTC
Or maybe we can simply remove this "Ruler" Checkbox. Just "Horizonal ruler" 
and "Vertical ruler" left. 

This will reduce the confusion caused by this checkbox and View->Ruler menu.
Comment 3 stefan.baltzer 2008-01-02 16:22:14 UTC
SBA: Thank you for the report. But I believe that we can leave this as it is. 
The "benefit" of the check box is to enable the user to switch off the rulers
with one click. So removing it would "disable" this "feature".
The options pages are not the place where "average users" spend much time.
The  current "confusion" is minimal, I believe.  

Since all UI changes must be specified (even to remove a check box) It would
involve an iTeam of 4 people), this would be "too expencive" for this case.

SBA->OS: Feel free to set to "Wontfix" and close this one, unless there will be
a greater re-work in this area in the foreseable future.
Comment 4 redflagzhulihua 2008-01-04 02:07:05 UTC
Hi, Stefan,

I think if a feature confuses users, it's not a good feature. And there is no 
much difference between one-click or two-click to the users. Users can switch 
the state from menu. Only if they want to change the showing of the horizontal 
or vertical rulers, they need go to the options dialog. So they rearly use the 
one-click feature in the options dialog.

But I totally agree with you about the expense of fixing this issue. Maybe we 
can fix it later when there is a greater re-work.
Comment 5 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:24:57 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".
Comment 6 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:26:05 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".