Issue 86615

Summary: Missing "name already used"-error message by using mysql db
Product: Base Reporter: Mechtilde <mechtilde>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues
Version: OOo 2.4 RC2Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
Error Message with HSQL DB none

Description Mechtilde 2008-03-02 18:35:40 UTC
After testing over several days I found the following problem.

If you use hsql db and create a query or a view with a same name as a table you
get an error message like in the attachment. So you can't save it with the same
name. This is a correct behaviour.

If you use mysql via ODBC or JDBC you get no error message. 
The Problem after this is that you can't edit the table anymore.

My idea is: if someone choose a name which is already used must get the same
message.
Comment 1 Mechtilde 2008-03-02 18:37:17 UTC
Created attachment 51851 [details]
Error Message with HSQL DB
Comment 2 Mechtilde 2008-05-20 12:30:14 UTC
correct the summary
Comment 3 christoph.lukasiak 2008-06-18 15:03:59 UTC
change owner, lower prio, set target
Comment 4 sirio81 2009-02-05 15:56:59 UTC
This problem is present also in OOo 2.4, both linux and windows version.
Queries get "confused" when it hase the same name of a table.
It ust not be possible togive the same name to a table and a query.
Thank you.
Comment 5 Frank Schönheit 2009-03-06 13:20:56 UTC
fs->mechtilde: Do you create a table, a view, or a query?

If the a table/view: Do you fill in the "Catalog"/"Schema" (JDBC/ODBC) field in
the "Save As" dialog, or do you leave it empty? Do you give it the name of an
existing table/view, or of an existing query?

If a query: To you give it a qualified name (with a . in it), or an unqualified one?

Sorry, I am unable to reproduce the problem, please add a step-by-step description.