Issue 94818

Summary: Display Formulas is Global
Product: Calc Reporter: kweinrich <karl>
Component: viewingAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: UNCONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, rb.henschel
Version: OOo 1.0.0   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: Mac   
OS: Mac OS X, all   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description kweinrich 2008-10-09 17:01:24 UTC
Hi - I submitted the following request to Trinity.NeoOffice.org:  

We have noticed that it is possible to change from viewing values to viewing formulas by using: 

Tools - Options - NeoOffice Calc - View 

and either checking or un-checking the Display - Formulas checkbox. 

The problem is that this is a global setting. 

In Excel, it is possible to designate whether Formulas or Values are displayed by sheet. For our 
purposes, this would be extremely valuable to have in NeoOffice too. 

Please let me know if this request is not clear.
-----------
I received the following reply:  

I don't think that this is technically feasible. 

NeoOffice is based on the OpenOffice.org office suite and whenever you open a document, 
OpenOffice.org converts the document to its native format. Unlike Microsofts Excel file format, I do not 
believe that Sun Microsystems' OpenOffice.org engineers provided any bucket in their ODF spreadsheet 
file format for such a setting Instead, they chose to make this setting an application setting not stored 
in the file but stored in your user preferences. 

Patrick
--------------
Would someone at OpenOffice care to look at this and comment?  

Thanks, Karl
Comment 1 Regina Henschel 2008-10-09 18:20:23 UTC
You need not go the way via Tools > Options. You can customize your UI to get it
by menu, keys or symbol. The command is .uno:ToggleFormula in the category View.
On English systems with English keyboards it should be preassigned to
Crtl+QUOTELEFT.

Comment 2 kweinrich 2008-10-09 19:20:00 UTC
Thanks Regina - 

The ctrl + quoteleft is not functional on an American keyboard as the "quote" is only one key (shift - 
apostraphe) and whether it is right or left depends on context in the typing.  

Karl
Comment 3 Regina Henschel 2008-10-09 20:30:26 UTC
Not the apostrophe-key but as far as I know the upper left key with the ~ on it.
Comment 4 kweinrich 2008-10-09 20:38:33 UTC
Hi Regina - 

Thanks, I checked, that also does not work.  

I am using the NeoOffice version 2.2.5 patch 1 on a Mac OS X 10.5.5 computer.  

Thanks again for your thoughts.  

Karl