Issue 9561

Summary: Setting Hyperlink as a "button" form didn't work
Product: Writer Reporter: Unknown <non-migrated>
Component: uiAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: frank.schoenheit, issues, jbf.faure, openoffice, scarr
Version: OOo 1.1 RC4Keywords: oooqa
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows NT   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description Unknown 2002-11-26 20:37:38 UTC
Setting Hyperlink as a "button" form didn't work

Ruproduction as following:

1.Creat a new text file in Writer.
2.From menu bar, select Insert -> Hyperlink, a Hyperlink dialog loaded.
3.Choose Document 
4.Path: type one of your file's path, for example: C:\testcase.sxw.
  (You must type your own file's path.)
5.In Further setting, change Form from text to Buttom.
6.Click Apply. Click Close.
7.A buttom shows in your text.
8.Then move mouse's cursor around the buttom, 
  I couldn't find where to associate the hyperlink.
9. Mark buttom. From left menu bar, click Show form functions one time 
quickly.
10.Move mouse's cursor around the buttom, now you see the hand 
   that usually used as a symbol of association.
11.Click the buttom, a message dialog shows:
   The document Untitled1 has been modified. 
    Do you want to save your changes?
12.Click discard, the file closed.

It doesn't make sense.
Comment 1 scarr 2003-06-26 02:03:07 UTC
This is actually a documentation issue.  After setting a Hyperlink as
a button, you need to set the Form Design Mode to off to be able to
use the Button.

Would a note in the Help system telling about how to set the design
mode to off for Button Hyperlinks work for this?

If so, I'll change this to a Documentation issue.
Comment 2 rblackeagle 2003-06-26 02:11:35 UTC
It should definitely be in the documentation.  I just tried it on
1.1b2 and found the same issue.
Comment 3 mci 2003-08-13 09:39:46 UTC
it seems that the help should be updated with something like that:

After setting a Hyperlink as a button, you need to set the Form Design
Mode to off to be able to use the Button.

(originally written by Scott Carr )
Comment 4 frank.thomas.peters 2003-08-14 09:58:42 UTC
This is a usability bug.

The insert hyperlink does not mention form controls
anywhere. If a user inserts a hyperlink as button
the button must be usable without fiddling around with
design modes.

If a hyperlink button was inserted, and the user switched off
the design mode, and then adds another hyperlink
as button, the design mode magically is switched on
again.

Pls first check if this can be fixed. I tend to refuse
documenting design flaws.
Comment 5 eric.savary 2003-09-22 15:23:06 UTC
ES->FS: As Frank described, the hyperlink dialog does not care about
what the current form is (design or aczive active mode). Worst it
resets the mode of the current form to "Design". 
Comment 6 Frank Schönheit 2003-09-23 08:12:42 UTC
fs->os: the hyperlink dialog is in the responsibility of the
application which uses it, isnt't it?
Comment 7 Oliver Specht 2003-09-23 08:37:00 UTC
os->cj: How do you want it to be? 
Changing into design mode as it does today is not as bad as discussed
in this issue. You will not be able to change the buttons properties
in the hyperlink dialog when it's not selectable. And it's only
selectable in design mode. 
Comment 8 christian.jansen 2003-09-23 12:05:57 UTC
We should automatically leave the design mode. For users it isn't easy
to understand whey it is not possible to click an inserted button. But
it should also be explained how to change the properties of the button.

Is it also possible to give the button a more useful label? Instead of
displaying a path we should show Button 1, Button 2 etc.
Comment 9 Oliver Specht 2003-12-22 13:48:48 UTC
.
Comment 10 Oliver Specht 2004-04-26 09:27:23 UTC
OS: This task needs a spec and it will not be implemented for OOo 2.0.
Target changed to OOo later
Comment 11 Oliver Specht 2004-11-05 14:09:00 UTC
os->cj: So it's up to you to write a spec.