Issue 96531

Summary: URL containing brackets not handled properly by Autocorrect
Product: Writer Reporter: voschix <voschix>
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: h.ilter, hdu, issues, michael.ruess, philipp.lohmann, stephan.bergmann.secondary
Version: OOO300m9   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description voschix 2008-11-24 12:40:59 UTC
If I paste an URL containing a pair of brackets into a Writer document, the
auto-insertion function leaves out the closing bracket.

The effect is not immediate, but when I convert the document to pdf, and then
try to print the pdf with Adobe Reader (Version 8.1.3), the print fails. The
Error message reads "The document could not be printed").

Example: The URL
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editing)"
gets truncated to
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editing"

This error seems to be very similar to the error 58011 reported in 2005 that was
(or should have been) fixed in OOo 2.0.1
Comment 1 michael.ruess 2008-11-27 11:12:10 UTC
MRU->OS: could you please have a look whether this is a problem of the
Autoformat of the Break iterator? When entering a link like
www.blabla.hallo(wach) the closing bracket won't be regarded for the link
formatting.
Comment 2 Oliver Specht 2008-11-27 14:27:37 UTC
->sb: AutoCorrect uses URIHelper::FindFirstURLInText()
Comment 3 Stephan Bergmann 2008-11-27 15:21:08 UTC
That the final ")" is not part of the hyperlink but just plain text is probably
indeed due to URIHelper::findFirstURLInText.  As greenrd2004 put it in issue
58011:  "this URL was auto-recognised by OpenOffice when I pasted it, but the
auto-recognising code didn't include the closing bracket (probably for good
heuristic reasons, because most of the time a closing bracket in pasted text
*isn't* part of a URL)."  Indeed, the heuristic used to detect URLs is not (and
cannot be) perfect.

However, I assume the main problem of voschix (correct me if I am wrong) in this
issue is that the resulting PDF document cannot be printed---which indeed looks
like issue 58011.  And I doubt the reason for *that* problem is the behavior of
URIHelper::findFirstURLInText.
Comment 4 voschix 2008-11-27 17:22:42 UTC
I have done some more tests, using Firefox 3.0.4, Adobe Reader 8.1.3, CutePDF
2.7, Adobe Acrobat Standard 6.0.

Things are getting more confused.

The link with both brackets:
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editing)"
opens from OpenOffice.org Writer correctly the page
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editing)â€
The OO.o pdf function translates this double bracket link into:
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_%5C(digital_image_editing%5C)â€
which opens this page from Adobe Reader:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_\(digital_image_editing\)
The pdf prints fine from Adobe Reader.

The link with the closing bracket missing (as produced by the auto-insertion
function of OO.o):
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editing"
opens this page when ctrl-clicked in OO.o Writer:
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_(digital_image_editingâ€
The OO.o pdf function translates this single-bracket link into:
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_â€
which from Adobe Reader opens this page:
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layersâ€
However the pdf document that contains this link refuses to print from Adobe
Reader with the unspecific error message: “The document could not be printedâ€
If I use CutePDF or Acrobat Writer to create the pdf from the OO.o Writer and
not the built-in pdf function the result is different:
The link created in the pdf looks the same:
“http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layers_â€
but it prints ok from Adobe Reader.
Comment 5 Stephan Bergmann 2008-11-28 08:55:22 UTC
@hdu,pl:  Wild guess is that there is some problem writing unbalanced
parentheses to PDF (as at least in PostScript parentheses have special
meaning---no idea whether that is true in PDF as well).
Comment 6 Marcus 2017-05-20 11:17:42 UTC
Reset assigne to the default "issues@openoffice.apache.org".