Issue 97428

Summary: Xinerama not found
Product: Build Tools Reporter: dtardon <dtardon>
Component: configureAssignee: rene
Status: CLOSED FIXED QA Contact: issues@tools <issues>
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: issues, kendy
Version: DEV300m37   
Target Milestone: OOo 3.1   
Hardware: PC (x86_64)   
OS: Unix, all   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---
Attachments:
Description Flags
proposed fix
none
modification, takes ppc64 into account
none
sorry, wrong file... another try
none
yet another try; this time using pkg-config none

Description dtardon 2008-12-19 11:23:05 UTC
Xinerama is always looked for in /usr/lib. That means it is not found on 64-bit
system (x86_64, ppc64), where the lib is in /usr/lib64.

It's weird a little that configure from SVN finds it properly; to exhibit the
wrong behaviour it's needed to run autoconf.
Comment 1 dtardon 2008-12-19 11:23:47 UTC
Created attachment 58936 [details]
proposed fix
Comment 2 rene 2008-12-21 21:56:52 UTC
dtardon: your text says ppc64 too, but doesn't take it into account in your
patch at all? And what about ia64? :)
Comment 3 caolanm 2008-12-21 22:54:14 UTC
FWIW the various kde and qt test are strewn with lib vs lib64 goo, e.g.

    if test -n "$KDEDIR" ; then
        kde_incdirs="$KDEDIR/include $kde_incdirs"
        if test "$build_cpu" != "x86_64" ; then
            kde_libdirs="$KDEDIR/lib $kde_libdirs"
        else
            kde_libdirs="$KDEDIR/lib64 $KDEDIR/lib $kde_libdirs"
        fi
    fi

which is all a bit messy. 
Comment 4 kendy 2009-01-04 21:46:25 UTC
cmc: Yes, it's messy, but IIRC that was introduced because of a 64bit distro 
that had no 32bit-compatibility layer, and had 64bit libraries in 
<whatever>/lib (probably Debian, according to what I've googled - 
http://lwn.net/Articles/89825/, but no idea if it is still true.)

rene: Please, do they use lib64 in the end, or not? ;-)
Comment 5 dtardon 2009-01-08 13:28:07 UTC
dtardon->rene: You're right--I forgot a test for ppc64. So here it is, with
fallback for /usr/lib if /usr/lib64 doesn't exist. Feel free to add another test
for ia64 ;)
Comment 6 dtardon 2009-01-08 13:30:39 UTC
Created attachment 59236 [details]
modification, takes ppc64 into account
Comment 7 dtardon 2009-01-08 13:34:36 UTC
Created attachment 59238 [details]
sorry, wrong file... another try
Comment 8 caolanm 2009-01-08 13:43:26 UTC
Would have a problem on s390x :-). How about trying first to see if 
pkg-config --variable=libdir x11
works, which it should on most stuff these days, and fall back to lib if it
doesn't work ?
Comment 9 rene 2009-01-08 13:49:29 UTC
cmc: x11? you mean xinerama, don't you? Otherwise, yes, could do.
Comment 10 rene 2009-01-08 16:10:20 UTC
.
Comment 11 dtardon 2009-01-09 08:59:27 UTC
dtardon->cmc: You're right; I didn't think about pkg-config.

dtardon->rene: The variable we are talking about is called XLIB, so I think
testing for x11 gives more sense. On the other side, the variable is not used at
any other place besides testing for Xinerama, so maybe the best thing would be
to get rid of it entirely and add something like:

xineramalib=`$PKG_CONFIG --variable=libdir xinerama`
if test x"$xineramalib" = x; then
    xineramalib=/usr/lib
fi

just before the block of xinerama tests.
Comment 12 dtardon 2009-01-09 09:00:58 UTC
Created attachment 59257 [details]
yet another try; this time using pkg-config
Comment 13 rene 2009-01-09 21:45:31 UTC
comitted to configuretopleveö
Comment 14 caolanm 2009-01-16 11:11:26 UTC
looks good
Comment 15 caolanm 2009-01-27 09:12:20 UTC
seen DEV300_m40