Issue 118261 - Installation file location
Summary: Installation file location
Status: CONFIRMED
Alias: None
Product: General
Classification: Code
Component: ui (show other issues)
Version: OOo 3.3
Hardware: PC Windows, all
: P4 Normal (vote)
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: AOO issues mailing list
QA Contact:
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2011-07-08 12:06 UTC by thelizardreborn
Modified: 2013-12-23 01:15 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT
Latest Confirmation in: 4.0.1
Developer Difficulty: ---


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this issue.
Description thelizardreborn 2011-07-08 12:06:58 UTC
It frusterates me that the Open Office installation files are unpacked to the desktop. I am not convinced that they're necessary after installation is complete (in which case they should be unpacked into a temp directory).

However, if there are reasonable scenarios in which a user would need access to the installation files, these scenarios are not the norm, so the default location should be somewhere less visible, such as somewhere in the user's AppData directory.

I do appreciate having the option to change where they are extracted to, but the default location should be set according to the most common scenario, which seems to be that they are never needed again.
Comment 1 Oliver-Rainer Wittmann 2012-06-13 12:18:48 UTC
getting rid of value "enhancement" for field "severity".
For enhancement the field "issue type" shall be used.
Comment 2 Andrea Pescetti 2013-12-22 15:13:07 UTC
Indeed, are there any reasons to not use %TEMP% (or suitable temporary location) on Windows? The user's desktop is part of his profile and this, as discussed on the users mailing list in Italian http://markmail.org/message/tpyhmw4vdxxmr5rm can create problems with roaming profiles.
Comment 3 efa 2013-12-23 01:15:40 UTC
at least the installer should delete installation files at end of installation.
Best is a default "remove installation files" marked flag option (so the user can choose to override removal and keep the files if he suspect need them) in last dialog box just before quit.