Issue 127628 - Lost adapted texts after switch to NSIS 3.x
Summary: Lost adapted texts after switch to NSIS 3.x
Status: CONFIRMED
Alias: None
Product: Installation
Classification: Application
Component: code (show other issues)
Version: 4.1.3
Hardware: All Windows, all
: P5 (lowest) Normal (vote)
Target Milestone: 4.2.0
Assignee: AOO issues mailing list
QA Contact:
URL:
Keywords: regression
Depends on: 127100
Blocks:
  Show dependency tree
 
Reported: 2017-12-10 12:36 UTC by Matthias Seidel
Modified: 2019-06-27 09:19 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
Latest Confirmation in: 4.1.6
Developer Difficulty: ---


Attachments
NSIS 2.x vs. 3.x (82.31 KB, application/pdf)
2017-12-10 12:36 UTC, Matthias Seidel
no flags Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this issue.
Description Matthias Seidel 2017-12-10 12:36:29 UTC
Created attachment 86294 [details]
NSIS 2.x vs. 3.x

After we moved to NSIS 3.x with AOO 4.1.3 the texts are falling to default again (see attachment).
This is confusing, because NSIS does not "install" but only "unpacks" and prepares the installation.

The adapted texts are still there, but are not used in NSIS 3.x:
https://svn.apache.org/repos/asf/openoffice/trunk/main/instsetoo_native/inc_openoffice/windows/msi_languages/Nsis.ulf
Comment 1 Pedro 2018-03-03 12:49:33 UTC
 
> After we moved to NSIS 3.x with AOO 4.1.3 the texts are falling to default
> again (see attachment).
> This is confusing, because NSIS does not "install" but only "unpacks" and
> prepares the installation.

The first screen message in NSIS 3.x is fine (actually it is more useful than the in the previous version (which had basically the same text repeated on both screens).

The second message in simply wrong (because the files are not installed on the unpack folder)

Would it be possible to keep the new text in screen 1 and replace the text in screen 2 with the old one?

Better yet would it be possible to skip this screen by silently unpacking the install folder to some temp folder that is removed after install is finished?
Comment 2 Matthias Seidel 2018-04-21 15:12:56 UTC
(In reply to Pedro from comment #1)
> 
> Better yet would it be possible to skip this screen by silently unpacking
> the install folder to some temp folder that is removed after install is
> finished?

You can already do this with:
Apache_OpenOffice_4.1.5_Win_x86_install_de.exe /S /POSTREMOVE=ON